Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+


Whitney Simons from the women’s golf team received the
President’s Award at the 2008 Gamecock Gala. She is pictured here with
President Andrew Sorensen and Athletics Director Eric Hyman.

Gamecock Gala Photo Gallery

2008 Gamecock Gala Award Winners

President’s Award: Whitney Simons, Women’s Golf
Inspiration Award: Chrissy Schoonmaker, Softball
Co-Male Athletes of the Year: Justin Smoak, Baseball and Jason Richardson, Track & Field
Co-Female Athletes of the Year: Blakely Matter, Women’s Soccer and Kristen Terebesi, Equestrian
Co-Male Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Lanard Stafford, Football and Michael Burke, Swimming & Diving
Co-Female Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Rebecca Chain, Cross Country/Track & Field and Blythe Worley, Women’s Golf
Male Rookie of the Year: Devan Downey, Men’s Basketball
Co-Female Rookie of the Year: Jordan Jones, Women’s Basketball and Taryn Zack, Swimming & Diving
Team Community Service Award: Equestrian
Male Brad Davis SEC Community Service Postgraduate Scholarship: William Brown, Football
Female Brad Davis SEC Community Service Postgraduate Scholarship: Kimberly Gillespie, Women’s Soccer
Male H. Boyd McWhorter Scholarship: Mark Anderson, Men’s Golf
Female H. Boyd McWhorter Scholarship Recipient: Whitney Simons, Women’s Golf

2008 Team MVPs

Baseball: TBD at the end of season
Men’s Basketball: Devan Downey
Women’s Basketball: Demetress Adams
Equestrian: Kristen Terebesi
Football: Cory Boyd
Men’s Golf: Mark Anderson
Women’s Golf: Bénédicte Toumpsin
Softball: TBD at the end of season
Men’s Soccer: Jeff Scannella
Women’s Soccer: Ashley Kirk
Women’s Swimming and Diving: Taryn Zack
Men’s Tennis: Pedro Campos
Women’s Tennis: Natasa Vuckovic
Men’s Indoor Track & Field: Jason Richardson
Women’s Indoor Track & Field: Brandi Cross
Cross Country: Rebecca Chain
Volleyball: Belita Salters