Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Gamecocks Hit Department High For First-Year Academic Honor Roll Members
General  . 

Gamecocks Hit Department High For First-Year Academic Honor Roll Members

July 11, 2018

COLUMBIA, S.C. – A total of 101 South Carolina student-athletes made the 2017-2018 First-Year SEC Academic Honor Roll, as commissioner Greg Sankey released this year’s list on Wednesday. It is the highest total for the Gamecocks in the award’s history, and ranks second for the most in the SEC. South Carolina has finished no worse than second over the last 16 years.

In total, 956 SEC student-athletes earned a spot, based on grades from the 2017-2018 academic year.

Any student-athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student-athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution’s NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll. The following criteria will be followed: (1) A student-athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. (2) If a student-athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll. (3) Student-athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons. (4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution. (5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.

South Carolina’s honorees are as follows:

Baseball (6):
Noah Campbell — Biological Sciences
Jordan Holladay — Sport and Entertainment Management
Carmen Mlodzinski — Sport and Entertainment Management
Shane Roberts — Sport and Entertainment Management
Corey Stone — Sport and Entertainment Management
Mason Streater — Retail Management

Men’s Basketball (3):
Jason Cudd — Business
Ibrahim Famouke Doumbia — Business
Felipe Haase — Sport and Entertainment Management

Beach Volleyball (5):
Kennedy Copeland — Advertising
Avery Davis — Public Health
Quinn Fulton — Global Studies
Louise Kooiman — Middle Level Education
Jess Vastine — Exercise Science

Cross Country (7):
Gwen Asbury — Nursing
Sierra Biber — Retail Management
Caitlin Conway — Psychology
Rachel Hensler — Civil Engineering
Heather Stone — Retail Management
Brooke Wilson — Exercise Science
Kylee Yturralde — Biological Sciences

Equestrian (8):
Kate Bonham — Biological Sciences
Louisa Brackett — Undeclared
Gabrielle Brassard — Experimental Psychology
Mira Clavecilla — Biological Sciences
Nikita Cope — Hospitality Management
Addie Cromer — Sport and Entertainment Management
McKenzie Duncan — Undeclared
Taylor Kellam — Nursing

Football (7):
Eric Douglas — Broadcast Journalism
Sherrod Greene — Criminal Justice
Will Register — Pre-Business
Jordan Rhodes — Criminal Justice
Chad Terrell — Journalism
Jay Urich — Undecided
Jamyest Williams — Journalism

Men’s Golf (2):
Jack Parrott — Public Health
Andrew Spiegler — Insurance Risk Management

Men’s Soccer (12):
Justin Bauer — Business
Aleksander Bjerke Christensson — Finance
Benjamin Gilligan — Undeclared
Jared Gulden — Business
Kay In ‘t Ven — Psychology
Ian McGrane — Sociology
Tucker Monheimer — Visual Communication
Mitchell Myers — Business
Aidan O’Brien — Sport and Entertainment Management
Paul Quildies — Business
Petter Soelberg — Business
Justin Sukow — Sport and Entertainment Management

Women’s Soccer (11):
Lauren Chang — Political Science
Jenn Colter — Public Relations
Sarah Eskew — Undeclared
Grace Fisk — Criminal Justice
Bianca Galassini — Exercise Science
Ryan Gareis — Advertising
Susan Kehl — Business
Victoria Robbins — Biological Sciences
Jackie Schaefer — Sport and Entertainment Management
Breukelen Woodard — Psychology
Luciana Zullo — Sport and EntertainmentManagement

Softball (5):
Morgan Davis — Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Alex Fulmer — Criminal Justice
Jana Johns — Sport and Entertainment Management
Kelsey Oh — Undecided
Anna Vest — Public Health

Men’s Swimming and Diving (8):
Jack Best — Pre-Business
Brandonn Almeida — Sport and Entertainment Management
Rafael Davila Zambrano — Economics
Lionel Khoo — Hospitality Management
Tamas Novoszath — Pre-Business
Alexander Overton — Pre-Business
Allen Ross — Civil Engineering
Grant Summers — Pre-Business

Women’s Swimming and Diving (11):
Rebecca Cohen — Psychology
Savanah Crutchfield — Marine Science
Danielle Doennebrink — Biological Sciences
Yu Qian Goh — Sport and Entertainment Management
Savannah Hillmeyer — Pre-Business
Lauren Hilt — Public Health
Elizabeth Mandrgoc — Retail Management
Emma Otten — Marine Science
Jenna Pehowski — Computer Science
Karlee Price — Pre-Business
Caroline Spence — Exercise Science

Men’s Tennis (1):
Thomas Brown — Sport and Entertainment Management

Women’s Tennis (3):
Megan Davies — Sport and Entertainment Management
Nikolina Jovic — Undecided
Kennedy Wicker — Sport and Entertainment Management

Men’s Track and Field (6):
Kaden Briggs — Physical Education
Spencer Flores — Psychology
Parker Howard — Exercise Science
Rivaldo Leacock — Criminal Justice
Blake Newcomb — Retail Management
Benjamin Womble — Business

Women’s Track and Field (5):
Dymier Jeffery — Retail Management
Sheniya Marshall — Criminal Justice
Sarah Riser — Civil Engineering
Sam Silber — Retail Management
KD Young — Business

Volleyball (2):
Brooke Gostomski — Pharmaceutical Sciences
Jess Vastine — Exercise Science