Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Gamecocks Post Department Record on SEC's Winter Honor Roll
Academics  . 

Gamecocks Post Department Record on SEC's Winter Honor Roll

The 88 honorees across five sports shatter a record held since 2016-17

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The 2019-20 Winter SEC Academic Honor Roll was announced on Thursday by commissioner Greg Sankey. South Carolina had 88 student-athletes across five sports make the list, setting a department record and finishing second in the conference. 
The previous record for winter honor roll members for South Carolina was 78, from the 2016-17 school year. The Gamecocks now have departmental records for the SEC’s fall and winter honor rolls so far in the 2019-2020 school year.
In total, 710 SEC student-athletes earned a place on the honor roll, with those students competing in the sports of men’s and women’s basketball, equestrian, and men’s and women’s swimming. The list is based on grades from the 2019 spring, summer and fall terms.
The Gamecock Athletics Department concluded the fall 2019 semester with a departmental GPA of 3.378, its highest GPA in history and the 26th-consecutive semester for a departmental GPA above 3.0. Of the 18 Gamecock programs, 16 earned a 3.0 or better GPA during the fall semester.
Beach Volleyball (3.760) earned the highest team GPA among all athletics teams, while Women’s Golf (3.753) earned the second-highest team mark within the department. Among the winter sports recognized, Equestrian (3.605) and Men’s Swimming & Diving (3.617) earned its highest team GPAs to date. The department also set a record by naming 97 student-athletes to the President’s List by earning a 4.0. Additionally, 168 student-athletes were named to the Dean’s List (3.5) and 424 to the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll (3.0).
Any student-athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student-athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution’s NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll. The following criteria will be followed: (1) A student-athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. (2) If a student-athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll. (3) Student-athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons. (4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution. (5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.
South Carolina’s honorees are as follows:
Jair Bolden – Retail Management
Micaiah Henry – Business Administration
Maik Kotsar – Finance
AJ Lawson – Public Health
Nathan Nelson – Political Science
Laeticia Amihere – Sport and Entertainment Management
LeLe Grissett – Mass Communications
Tyasha Harris – Sport and Entertainment Management
Destanni Henderson – Criminology and Criminal Justice
Victaria Saxton – Criminology and Criminal Justice
Elysa Wesolek – Public Health
Caroline Bald – Management
Kate Bonham – Public Health
Louisa Brackett – Criminology and Criminal Justice
Billi Brandner – Finance
Quinn Brandt – Social Work
Gabrielle Brassard – Experimental Psychology
Mira Clavecilla – Exercise Science
Nikita Cope – Tourism Management
Addie Cromer – Sport & Entertainment Management
Kit Cunningham – Experimental Psychology
McKenzie Duncan – Operations & Supply Chain
Caroline Gute – Double Major: Management & Marketing
Trinity Hammerschmidt – Sport & Entertainment Management
Rawleigh Harris – Environmental Studies
Madelynne Herlocker – Sport & Entertainment Management
Graycen Hess – Nursing
Bailey Imbus – Double Major: Marketing & Management
Alice Kass – Management
Taylor Kellam – Public Health
Mackenzie Matthews – English
Christina Mueller – Marine Science
Maddy Parker – Chemistry
Tyler Petrie – Sport & Entertainment Management
Michaela Schrim – Hospitality Management
Jordan Scott – Exercise Science
Madison Sellman – Biological Sciences
Mackenzie Suffy – Sociology
Alexa Thorpe – Social Work
Sloane Vogt – Public Health
Farley Wickre – Visual Communications
Lewis Burras – Sport and Entertainment Management
Alex Claus – Operations and Supply Chain
Philip Costin – English
Dylan Delaney – Sport and Entertainment Management
Anton Down‐Jenkins – Sport and Entertainment Management
Robbie Epler – Operations and Supply Chain
Benjamin Fenwick – Exercise Science
Itay Goldfaden – Computer Science
Lionel Khoo – Retailing
Coleman Kramer – Marketing
Kevin Liu – Operations and Supply Chain
Tamas Novoszath – Finance
William Riggs – Risk Management and Insurance
Justin Rose – Business Economics
Allen Ross – Civil Engineering
Grant Summers – Sport and Entertainment Management
Alexander Wade – Operations and Supply Chain
Nathan Walton – International Business
Ayris Akbay – Exercise Science
Haley Arner – Sport and Entertainment Management
Rebecca Cohen – Experimental Psychology
Emily Cornell – Public Health
Savanah Crutchfield – Media Arts
Danielle Doennebrink – Biological Sciences
Abigail Ellis – Elementary Education
Claire Gerlock – Exercise Science
Hannah Gerlock – Biological Sciences
Yu Qian Goh – Operations and Supply Chain
Samantha Grant – Sport and Entertainment Management
Albury Higgs – Public Health
Savannah Hillmeyer – International Business
Lauren Hilt – Public Health
Megan Jones – Nursing
Halladay Kinsey – Biological Sciences
Mariana Kraus – Public Health
Christina Lappin – Sport and Entertainment Management
Edith Lingmann – Sport and Entertainment Management
Elizabeth Mandrgoc – Risk Management and Insurance
Ellen Masterson – Sport and Entertainment Management
Clare McGovern – Nursing
Ana Menendez Nava – Exercise Science
Jenna Pehowski – Computer Science
Karlee Price – Sport and Entertainment Management
Emma Scheider – Public Health
Kathleen Shannahan – Marketing
Caroline Spence – Public Health
Emma Walker – Public Relations