Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Cooke Named a Finalist for Ann Meyers Drysdale Award
Women's Basketball  . 

Cooke Named a Finalist for Ann Meyers Drysdale Award

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina senior Zia Cooke was named a finalist for the 2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today. In its sixth year, the award recognizes the top shooting guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

Cooke is enjoying the most efficient season of her career, leading the Gamecocks and ranking eighth in the SEC with 15.5 points per game on a career-high 41.3 percent field goal shooting. Her scoring average rises to 17.0 in SEC contests, the sixth-best mark in the league. Cooke has scored in double figures 25 times through 29 games this season, including six outings over 20 points. In addition to her own scoring, Cooke has handed out 2.1 assists per game, which led to another 4.7 points per game. The combination means she has had her hands on 24.8 percent of South Carolina’s total offense. That percentage rose to 26.6 percent in SEC action – 17.0 ppg, 4.3 ppg off assists).

Fans can support their favorite players by participating in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, starting Friday, March 3, on The Fan Vote will count as one committee vote during the finalist selection process.

The finalists will be presented to Meyers Drysdale and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The Selection Committee for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.

The winner of the 2023 Meyers Drysdale Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the four other members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Award (Point Guard), Cheryl Miller Award (Small Forward), the Katrina McClain Award (Power Forward) and the Lisa Leslie Award (Center), in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

SEC Champion and No. 1/1 South Carolina (29-0, 16-0 SEC) is back in action on Fri., Mar. 3, in the SEC Tournament quarterfinals in Greenville, S.C, facing either No. 8-seed Arkansas or No. 9-seed Missouri. Tipoff is set for noon on SEC Network.

Continue to check and the team’s social media accounts (@GamecockWBB) for the most up-to-date information on the women’s basketball season.

2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Finalists
Zia Cooke, South Carolina
Ta’Niya Latson, Florida State
Diamond Miller, Maryland
Hailey Van Lith, Louisville
Keishana Washington, Drexel