Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Baseball's Wimmer Named Semifinalist for Brooks Wallace Award
Baseball  . 

Baseball's Wimmer Named Semifinalist for Brooks Wallace Award

LUBBOCK, Texas – University of South Carolina senior shortstop Braylen Wimmer has been named one of 25 semifinalists for the Brooks Wallace Award, handed out to college baseball’s best shortstop, the College Baseball Foundation announced today (Tuesday, May 16).

Wimmer has played in 44 games for the Gamecocks this season and is hitting .298 with eight doubles, a triple, 11 home runs, 38 RBI and 13 stolen bases. The Yukon, Okla., native is slugging .554 and has a .411 on-base percentage. He was a perfect 5-for-5 in the season opener against UMass Lowell (Feb. 17) and drove in five runs the very next game. He hit back-to-back leadoff home runs at Mississippi State (March 31-April 1) and drove in three runs in a win over Georgia (March 18).

The award honors the nation’s top shortstop and will be presented this summer by the College Baseball Foundation. It is named for former Texas Tech shortstop Brooks Wallace, a slick-fielding shortstop who played for the Red Raiders from 1977 to 1980. Wallace died of leukemia at the age of 27.


Name                                      Class                School                         Conference
Andy Blake                              Senior              Columbia                     Ivy League
Drew Cowley                           Senior              Oregon                                    Pac-12
Kevin Dubrule                         Senior              Army                           Patriot
Noah Fisher                             Grad                Northern Kentucky     Horizon
Cole Foster                              Junior              Auburn                                    SEC
JJ Freeman                              RS-Senior         Delaware                     Colonial
Phillip Glasser                         Grad                Indiana                                    Big Ten
Jacob Gonzalez                                   Junior              Ole Miss                      SEC
Nick Goodwin                         Junior              Kansas State                Big 12
Hunter Haas                            Junior              Texas A&M                  SEC
Dakota Harris                          Junior              Oklahoma                   Big 12
Jim Jarvus                                Senior              Alabama                      SEC
Josh Kuroda-Grauer                Sophomore     Rutgers                                    Big Ten
Noah Lucier                             Grad                Fairfield                                   Metro Atlantic
Mik McClaughry                                  Senior              Arizona                                    Pac-12
Alex Mooney                           Sophomore     Duke                            ACC
Griff O’Ferrall                          Sophomore     Virginia                                    ACC                               \
Dominic Pitelli                                     Junior              Miami                          ACC
Jake Rainess                            RS-Junior         Maine                          American East
Josh Rivera                              Junior              Florida                                     SEC
Matt Shaw                              Junior              Maryland                     Big Ten
Tevin Tucker                           RS-Senior         West Virginia              Big 12
Jonathan Vastine                                Sophomore     Vanderbilt                   SEC
Jacob Wilson                           Junior              Grand Canyon             WAC
Braylen Wimmer                    Senior             South Carolina                        SEC