Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Darling Named to ANNIKA Award Preseason Watch List
Women's Golf  . 

Darling Named to ANNIKA Award Preseason Watch List

Andy Mead/South Carolina Athletics

Junior All-American on the player of the year watch list for the third straight season

COLUMBUS, Ga. – For the third consecutive year, All-American Hannah Darling has been named to the ANNIKA Award Preseason Watch List, the Haskins Foundation announced on Monday via Golf Channel and Golfweek.

The junior from Midlothian, Scotland, looks to build on an impressive first two years in Garnet and Black in 2023-24. She earned First Team All-America honors from both the WGCA and Golfweek as a freshman and sophomore.

Darling followed up one of the best freshman seasons in school history last season with a fine sophomore campaign. She paced Carolina with a T-18th finish at the NCAA Championship, shooting 286 (-2), which tied All-American Katie Burnett (2010) for the second-lowest 72-hole score in program history. Darling finished eighth in the Golfstat Player Rankings after leading the team with a 71.83 scoring average, eight top-20 finishes and four top-fives in 10 stroke play starts. She also led the team with 17 rounds of par or better. She joined Pauline Roussin-Bouchard, Katelyn Dambaugh and Kristy McPherson as the only multiple, First Team All-America selections in school history.

The seventh-ranked Gamecocks are currently competing in the opening round of the ANNIKA Intercollegiate at Royal Golf Club in Lake Elmo, Minn. Live scoring is available via Golfstat.

About the ANNIKA Award presented by Stifel:

Created in 2014, the ANNIKA Award presented by Stifel is annually given to the top female Division 1 collegiate golfer; the winner voted on by players, coaches and members of the college golf media. Named for Annika Sorenstam, the award was created in partnership with the Haskins Foundation to acknowledge the top female golfer and to match the Haskins Award presented by Stifel, which acknowledges the top male Division I collegiate golfer. Rose Zhang (Stanford) became the 9th ANNIKA Award winner in 2023, and the third consecutive winner from Stanford.

Stifel, one of the nation’s leading wealth management and investment banking firms, serves as the presenting sponsor of both the ANNIKA and Haskins Awards, recognizing annually the most outstanding NCAA Division I female and male college golfers. Stifel also serves as a presenting sponsor for the NCAA Division I Women’s and Men’s Golf Championships on Golf Channel.

About Fred Haskins and the Haskins Foundation

From the seaside town of Liverpool to a quaint Donald Ross course in Georgia, Fred Haskins built a reputation for mentoring young golfers. Haskins was head professional at the Country Club of Columbus for 34 years, recommended for the position by the legendary Bobby Jones. His proteges learned the game in Saturday morning classes that cost a nickel. They went on to win more than 150 collegiate and amateur tournaments. Since its formation in 1971, the Haskins Foundation has been devoted to amateur golf and the presentation of the Haskins Award. This coveted trophy honors the year’s outstanding college golfer and the memory of Fred Haskins, a club pro that spent his life nurturing and mentoring amateur golfers. The foundation, based in Columbus, Ga., oversees the voting for the Haskins and ANNIKA Awards conducted among college golfers, coaches and golf media. For more information on the Haskins Foundation, visit