Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Dekel Daks, Luckhurst Earn Sun Belt All-Conference Honors
Men's Soccer  . 

Dekel Daks, Luckhurst Earn Sun Belt All-Conference Honors


NEW ORLEANS – South Carolina men’s soccer players Ethan Dekel Daks and Adam Luckhurst were named to the Sun Belt All-Conference teams as announced by the league Friday (Nov. 3). The honors were voted upon by the league’s nine head coaches.

Dekel Daks was named to the First Team as a midfielder, while Luckhurst earned Second Team honors as a forward. The honors are the first for both Dekel Daks and Luckhurst.

A sophomore, Dekel Daks was tied for seventh in conference play with three goals, two of which were game winners. His two game winners were tied for second in league play. He was tied for the team lead in goals and assists in Sun Belt play. He also led the team with 10 shots on goal. Dekel Daks scored the game-winner at then No. 24 Kentucky and against Old Dominion, which came with five seconds left in the match. He had a three-point night against then No. 7 West Virginia, tallying a goal and an assist. He also tallied an assist in a win over Costal Carolina on the game-winning goal by Jordan Illian. He started all nine conference matching and played in all but 27 minutes.

Luckhurst, a senior, led the Gamecocks in goals scored for the second straight year. He finished the season with six total goals, three of which came in Sun Belt play. He was second on the team with six shots on goal in conference play. His three goals in league play were tied for seventh. He notched goals in league play against No. 7 West Virginia, No. 2 UCF, and James Madison. His goal against JMU tied the match and helped the Gamecocks earn a result. He started eight league matches, playing 546 minutes.

The complete list of All-Conference awards are below.

Player of the Year | Offensive Player of the Year: Matthew Bell, Marshall

Defensive Player of the Year: Morris Duggan, Marshall

Goalkeeper of the Year: Gabriel Perrotta, Marshall

Freshman of the Year: Saku Heiskanen, UCF

Newcomer of the Year: Clarence Awoudor, UCF

Coach of the Year: Scott Calabrese, UCF

First Team All-Conference

F – Matthew Bell, Marshall

F – Marcus Caldeira, West Virginia

F – Lucca Dourado, UCF

F – Yutaro Tsukada, West Virginia

M – Ethan Dekel Daks, South Carolina

M – Clay Obara, James Madison

M – Simon Carlson, Georgia State

D – Zane Bubb, UCF

D – Morris Duggan, Marshall

D – Luca Nikolai, James Madison

GK – Gabriel Perrotta, Marshall

Second Team All-Conference

F – Saku Heiskanen, UCF

F – Adam Luckhurst, South Carolina

F – Rodrigo Robles, James Madison

M – Taimu Okiyoshi, Marshall

M – AJ Seals, UCF

M – Kevin Larsson, James Madison

M – Luke McCormick, West Virginia

D – Anderson Rosa, UCF

D – Frederik Jorgensen, West Virginia

D – Max Miller, Kentucky

GK – Jackson Lee, West Virginia

For the latest on men’s soccer, visit or follow the team’s social media accounts on Twitter @GamecockMSoccer, Facebook /GamecockMSoccer, and Instagram @GamecockMSoccer.