Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Franks Tabbed Golfweek Honorable Mention All-American
Men's Golf  . 

Franks Tabbed Golfweek Honorable Mention All-American

South Carolina Athletics

Junior becomes 27th different player in program history to be named an All-American

COLUMBIA, S.C. – Junior Nathan Franks earned a spot on the Golfweek Honorable Mention All-America squad the organization announced on Wednesday. He becomes the 27th different player to be named an All-American at South Carolina and it marks the 44th All-America honor for the program all-time.

Franks, who ranked second on the team with a 70.86 scoring average, had a trio of top-20 finishes in seven stroke play starts while shooting par or better in 14 of 21 rounds played this season. He picked up the first two wins of his career this spring at the Thomas Sharkey Individual Collegiate (Feb. 3-4) and the Schenkel Invitational (March 15-17).

He posted scores of 204 (-12) and 203 (-13), respectively, in the victories earning SEC Golfer of the Week honors both times.

The Roebuck, S.C., native missed the team’s next four tournaments due to injury and returned for the NCAA Baton Rouge Regional (Mary 13-15). He paced Carolina with a T-12th finish at 1-under for the tournament. Franks rose 15 spots up the leaderboard in the final round thanks to a 66 (-6). He was bogey free at 8-under with two holes to play before catching a pair of tough breaks the final finishing holes.

2024 Golfweek All-American Teams

First Team

Luke Clanton, Florida State

Wenyi Ding, Arizona State

Mats Ege, East Tennessee State

Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida

Ben James, Virginia

Jackson Koivun, Auburn

Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech

Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt

Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford

Brendan Valdes, Auburn

Second Team

Austin Greaser, North Carolina

Max Herendeen, Illinois

Michael La Sasso, Ole Miss

Phichaksn Maichon, Texas A&M

Matthew Riedel, Vanderbilt

Jacob Skov Oleson, Arkansas

Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt

Preston Summerhays, Arizona State

Hiroshi Tai, Georgia Tech

Karl Vilips, Stanford

Third Team

Bastien Amat, New Mexico

David Ford, North Carolina

Maxwell Ford, North Carolina

Santiago de la Fuente, Houston

Johnny Kiefer, Baylor

Frederik Kjettrup, Florida State

Jack Lundin, Missouri

Christiaan Maas, Texas

Jack Turner, Florida

Sampson Zheng, California

Honorable Mention

Jackson Buchanan, Illinois

JM Butler, Auburn

Nathan Franks, South Carolina

Gustav Frimodt, TCU

Ian Gilligan, Florida

Alex Goff, Kentucky

Petr Hruby, Washington

Ryggs Johnston, Arizona State

Bryan Lee, Virginia

Bryce Lewis, Tennessee

Ben Lorenz, Oklahoma

Omar Morales, UCLA

Sebastian Moss, Louisville

Calum Scott, Texas Tech

Herman Wibe Sekne, Purdue

Neal Shipley, Ohio State

Taehoon Song, Washington

Jackson Van Paris, Vanderbilt

Tyler Weaver, Florida State

Evan Woosley-Reed, Tennessee