Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

March 4, 2002

COLUMBIA, SC – University of South Carolina senior student-athletes Trey Dyson and Jessica Ward have been chosen as recipients of an SEC post-graduate scholarship and are finalists for the 2001-2002 H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award as announced by SEC Commissioner Roy Kramer. Both Dyson and Ward are natives of Columbia, SC and graduates of Spring Valley H.S.

A senior on this season’s nationally-ranked baseball team, Dyson has been named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll twice (2000 & 2001) and has also been named to the Dean’s List. Dyson is a finance/management major at South Carolina. Dyson is currently the starting designated hitter for the No. 4 Gamecocks and is second on the team in runs batted in with 18 on the year. Dyson has started all 11 games for the Gamecocks.

“Trey Dyson is the type of student-athlete that makes me want to coach forever,” said USC head baseball coach Ray Tanner. “I’m honored to have had the opportunity to coach him at the University of South Carolina.”

Despite being out for the 2001 season with a knee injury, Jessica Ward has continued to be an important part of the women’s soccer program as a team leader. One of only two seniors on this year’s squad, Ward was also named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll and Dean’s List. Ward is a business major at South Carolina.

“I am very excited for Jessica Ward and she is well-deserving,” said USC head women’s soccer coach Shelley Smith. “Jessica has demonstrated leadership and has been a very supportive and positive teammate. She is a great role model for our younger players as well as youth soccer players.”

Each finalist will receive a $5000 scholarship for post-graduate studies. The SEC Faculty Athletics Representatives Boyd McWhorter Selection Committee will choose the outstanding male and female student-athletes and receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the ALLTEL Corporation.

The award will be presented to the two winners (one male, one female) in June at the SEC Spring Meetings in Destin, Fla.