Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

May 30, 2004

The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 58th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship live on ESPN Sunday, and Columbia, S.C. was named as one of the sites. The Columbia regional will be June 4-6 at Sarge Frye Field on the University of South Carolina campus. Tickets for the tournament go on sale Monday at 8:30 a.m. at the USC Ticket office. The 64-team field will be announced Monday, May 31 at Noon (ET).

This marks the 10th time the Gamecocks have hosted an NCAA Regional, including four of the last five years. USC is one of five SEC teams to host while Baton Rouge, La. (LSU), Athens, Ga. (Georgia), Fayetteville, Ark. (Arkansas) and Oxford, Miss. (Ole Miss) round out the conference sites. The Gamecocks have won eight regionals hosted in Columbia.

The remaining sites include: Fullerton, Calif. (Cal State-Fullerton), Kinston, N.C. (East Carolina), Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State), Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Tech), Coral Gables, Fla. (Miami), South Bend, Ind. (Notre Dame), Oklahoma City, Okla. (Oklahoma), Houston, Texas (Rice), Palo Alto, Calif. (Stanford), Austin, Texas (Texas) and Charlottesville, Va. (Virginia).

Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regional will begin Friday with game times scheduled for 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. Saturday’s game times are 11 a.m., 3 p.m. and 7 p.m. The championship game will be Sunday at 1:30 p.m. and a 5:30 if necessary game. All times are Eastern.

Ticket prices are $60 for a seven-game book for adults and $40 for a seven-game book for children. For more ticket information, call 800-4SC-FANS (473-3267) or 803-777-4274.