Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Alumni Game Photo Gallery

Alumni Golf Outing Photo Gallery

Oct. 22, 2005

Columbia, S.C. – Behind a two-run homer from former Gamecock Bryon Jeffcoat (1998-2001), the Garnet team defeated the Black team 4-0 on Saturday morning in the 2005 Alumni Game. More than 80 players, coaches and support staff were in attendance for this weekend’s events on the campus of the University of South Carolina. The Alumni Weekend featured a golf outing on Friday afternoon at the University Club with the baseball game held at Sarge Frye Field.

The winning team at Friday’s golf outing was Brandon Cromer, D.T. Cromer, Jeff Easterling and Bennett Galloway. The foursome shot a team score of 59 in the captain’s choice event. Right behind them was the quartet of Jeff Churchich, Michael Cook, Jeff Morris and Scott Mackie, who shot an even 60. The foursome won second place in a playoff against the third place team of Hal Hutchens, Mark Kish, Jeff Twitty and Jeff Grantz, who also shot 60 in 18 holes. Larry Jewell earned closet to the pin honors with Brian Buscher winning the longest drive contest.

The oldest Carolina letterwinner to be present at Saturday’s Alumni Game was Johnny Sykes, who attended the University of South Carolina from 1947-1950. Many members of the 1985 team that went to the College World Series were in attendance including former Gamecock head coach, June Raines. Several current Gamecock professional players were also at Saturday’s game: Kip Bouknight (1998-2001), Trey Dyson (1999-2002), Kevin Melillo (2002-2004), Landon Powell (2001-2004), Brian Buscher (2002-2003) and Aaron Rawl (2002-2005).

Pictures from this weekend’s festivities will be available early next week at USCSPORTS.COM.

Alumni who were part of the Gamecock Alumni Weekend included:Tim Angiolini (1998-1999)Corey Barboza (1995-1997)Fox Beyer (1997-2002)Mark Boatwright (1979-1980)Kip Bouknight (1998-2001)Carl Brazell (1953-1955)Hardin Brown (1984-1989)Bobby Bryant (1963-1967)Brian Buscher (2002-2003)Joe Cardwell (1988-1989)Garrett Carter (1984-1988)Jeff Churchich (1985-1986)Mike Cook (1983-1985)Tripp Cromer (1987-1989)D.T. Cromer (1990-1992)Burke Cromer (1993)Brennan Dees (2000-2001)John Dudley (1996-2001)Trey Dyson (1999-2002)Jeff Easterling (1991-1993)Sean Edwards (1992-1994)Arthur Finley (1981-1983)Pete Fisher (1983-1984)Ryan Floyd (2003-2004)Bennett Galloway (1991-1994)Dave Gdovin (1997-2001)Garris Gonce (2001-2002)Johnny Gramling (1952-1953)Brian Grant (1985-1989)Jeff Grantz (1973-1976)Billy Heckle (1971-1972)Harvey Heise (1981-1984)John Hinkel (1974-1977)Hall Hutchens (1976-1979)Bryon Jeffcoat (1998-2001)Larry Jewell (1955-1957)Brett Jodie (1996-1998)Tripp Kelly (1997-2001)Mark Kish (1976-1979)Kurt Korinek (1982)Joe Kucharski (1980-1982)Brian Lawler (1989-1992)Eddie Lendenski (1985-1986)Will Lewis (1987-1991)Scott Mackie (1982-1985)Mark Mapes (1995-1996)Jack McCathern (1962-1964)Chuck McLean (1974-1977)Kevin Melillo (2001-2004)Bobby Miller (1984-1985)Tommy Moody (1970-1972)Jeff Morris (1985-1986)Mark Nelson (1985-1988)Adam Poe (1997-1999)Riley Polk (1985-1986)Jason Pomar (1996-1999)Jamie Poston (1997-2000)Landon Powell (2001-2004)Richard Pratt (1989-1993)Larry Price (1982-1985)Billy Pridgen (1951-1952)Mark Pyne (1985-1987)Bobby Rogers (1949-1951)Dr. Ken Rosefield Jr. (1956-1959)Craig Ross (1991-1994)Delleney Ruff (1961-1963)George W. Rush Jr. (1989-1991)Jerry Shepherd (1991-1992)Ken Shull (1972-1974)Tyler Speer (1997)Pete Stokes (1956-1958)Jerry Stone (1960-1961)John Sullivan (1980-1984)Johnny Sykes (1947-1950)Blake Taylor (2001-2002)Skeets Thomas (1987-1990)Matt Thompson (1997)Jeff Twitty (1977-1979)Derick Urquhart (1995-1998)Lee Whatley (1986-1987)Derek White (1982-1985)Mac White (1991-1994)