Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

2006 Baseball Schedule
dot.gifspacer.gifDownload Free Acrobat Reader

Oct. 27, 2005

Columbia, S.C. – The University of South Carolina baseball team has released its schedule for the 2006 season. Carolina will host 36 games at Sarge Frye Field this year including its season opener on Friday, Feb. 10 at 3 p.m. vs. Elon. Thirty of USC’s 56 games on the regular season schedule will be against teams that advanced to the NCAA Regionals last year including two teams that reached the College World Series.

Among the highlights on this year’s schedule include four contests with in-state rival Clemson beginning on Saturday, Mar. 4 at 1:30 p.m. in Columbia. South Carolina will travel to Clemson then on Sunday, Mar. 5 with first pitch set for 2 p.m. Both teams will also host Wednesday night games on April 5 and April 12.

South Carolina opens SEC play on the road on Friday, Mar. 17 with a three-game series at Auburn. The first home conference series is scheduled for Friday, Mar. 22 as the Gamecocks host CWS participant Florida. Other home conference series include Alabama, Ole Miss, Mississippi State and Tennessee. All five SEC teams that come to Sarge Frye Field reached the 2005 NCAA Regionals.

In addition, Carolina will make two appearances on SEC-TV/FSN South this year with the April 15 home game vs. Ole Miss as well as the May 6 game at Georgia being televised. This year’s SEC Baseball Tournament begins on May 24 with the NCAA Regionals scheduled for June 2-5 and the NCAA Super Regionals June 9-12. The College World Series begins on June 16 in Omaha, Neb.

South Carolina heads into the 2006 season fresh off its sixth consecutive NCAA Regional appearance. Over the last six years, Carolina owns the third highest win total in NCAA Division I baseball with a 301-110 record. The Gamecocks have made three trips to the College World Series (2002, 2003, 2004), reached five NCAA Super Regionals (2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004), captured three SEC Eastern Division titles (2000, 2002, 2003), won two SEC regular season championships (2000, 2002) and earned one SEC Tournament title (2004).