Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

April 23, 2009

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina junior golfer Benedicte Toumpsin was named to the All-Southeastern Conference Second Team, the league announced Thursday morning. It marks Toumpsin’s second selection to the All-SEC team after a spot on the first team a year ago.

Toumpsin, who most recently earned a runner-up finish at the SEC Championship at Cobblestone Park in Blythewood, is ranked 10th in the SEC with a 73.93 stroke average through nine events. The junior from Sombreffe, Belgium, has six top-20 finishes on the season, including a tie for first place at the LSU Classic in March. She also had an 11th-place finish at the Cougar Classic, a tie for 19th at the Mercedes-Benz Collegiate, a tie for 20th at the Central District Invitational, and a tie for 13th at the Bryan National Collegiate. Her low round of 68 came in the final round of the LSU Classic before falling in a three-way playoff for the tournament title. Her stroke average is actually better right now (73.93) than it was last season (74.07) when she was a first-team selection.

For women’s golf, the SEC uses the national head-to-head rankings from GolfStat to determine the All-SEC first and second teams. The top nine were named to the first team, and the next eight earned second-team honors. Toumpsin is ranked 54th in the nation in that category, placing her 12th among SEC players and earning her a spot on the second team.

Auburn head coach Kim Evans and junior Candace Schepperle were named the league’s Coach of the Year and Golfer of the Year, respectively. Kentucky senior Mallory Blackwelder earned the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, and SEC Champion Marta Silva of Georgia was named Freshman of the Year.

Toumpsin and the South Carolina women’s golf team have completed their regular season and are awaiting bids for NCAA Regionals. Those will be announced Monday, April 27.

SEC Coach of the Year – Kim Evans, Auburn
SEC Golfer of the Year – Candace Schepperle, Auburn
SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Mallory Blackwelder, Kentucky
SEC Freshman of the Year – Marta Silva, Georgia

Candace Schepperle, Auburn
Megan McChrystal, LSU
Dori Carter, Mississippi
Marta Silva, Georgia
Jessica Yadloczky, Florida
Mallory Hetzel, Georgia
Cydney Clanton, Auburn
Camilla Lennarth, Alabama
Kathleen Ekey, Alabama

Brooke Pancake, Alabama
Nathalie Mansson, Tennessee
Benedicte Toumpsin, South Carolina
Lucy Nunn, Arkansas
Carolina Andrade, Georgia
Marina Alex, Vanderbilt
Nicole Smith, Tennessee
Haley Wilson, Auburn

Marta Silva, Georgia
Brooke Pancake, Alabama
Nathalie Mansson, Tennessee
Marina Alex, Vanderbilt
Haley Wilson, Auburn
Jacqueline Hedwall, LSU
Evan Jensen, Florida
Tessa Teachman, LSU