Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Sept. 2, 2009

COLUMBIA, S.C. – University of South Carolina senior linebacker Eric Norwood is among 30 NCAA Division I football players announced as candidates for the 2009 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. Candidates are selected based on their overall achievements focusing on the “Four C’s” of classroom, character, community and competition.

A criminal justice major, Norwood has worked extremely hard in the classroom and is on pace to graduate in December 2009, just 3-1/2 years after enrolling at the University. He finished his freshman year with over a 3.0 GPA to make the Dean’s List after being conditionally admitted to the University. Norwood also made the Dean’s List as a sophomore. Despite the lure of the NFL Draft following his junior season, he elected to return to school because, among other things, it was important for him to set the example of earning his degree.

A team captain with great leadership skills, Norwood is a regular in the team’s community service projects. He has been a field day volunteer, a volunteer reader, a tour leader, part of a youth mentoring program and a volunteer speaker among other ventures.

On the field, Norwood is a two-time first-team All-SEC selection and earned a spot on the preseason All-SEC squad in 2009. He is on the watch list for numerous postseason awards for 2009 and is an All-America candidate. Norwood is the SEC active leader in both sacks and tackles for loss, for which he is the school record-holder.

A national media committee will select 10 finalists for the award midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs.

Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award 2009 Football Candidates
Mike Anello, CB, Notre Dame
Javier Arenas, CB, Alabama
Zane Beadles, OT, Utah
Richie Brockel, FB, Boise State
Antonio Coleman, DE, Auburn
Eric Decker, WR, Minnesota
Auston English, DE, Oklahoma
Kurtis Gregory, OL, Missouri
Nnamdi Gwacham, WR, Utah State
Moses Harris, S, Fresno State
Tim Hiller, QB, Western Michigan
Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU
Jammie Kirlew, DE, Indiana
Sean Lee, LB, Penn State
Dan LeFevour, QB, Central Michigan
Andrew Lewis, OL, Oklahoma State
Trevard Lindley, CB, Kentucky
Taylor Mays, S, Southern Cal
Colt McCoy, QB, Texas
Zoltan Mesko, P, Michigan
Mike Nixon, LB, Arizona State
Eric Norwood, LB, South Carolina
Joe Pawelek, LB, Baylor
George Selvie, DE, South Florida
Andrew Sendejo, S, Rice
Darrell Stuckey, S, Kansas
Tim Tebow, QB, Florida
Syd’Quan Thompson, CB, Cal-Berkeley
Reed Williams, LB, West Virginia
Ryan Wolfe, WR, UNLV