Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

March 26, 2010

Schedule of Events | Heat Sheets (Updated Friday, 4pm)

Carolina Spotlight: Elliott Haynie

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina’s track and field teams will host the Weems Baskin Invitational on Sat., March 28 with 16 schools from six states competing in the daylong meet that is free to the public. Field events are scheduled to begin at 10 a.m. with the hammer throw, and the running events will begin at 12 noon with the 3,000m steeplechase.

The Weems Baskin Invitational is the biggest home meet of the season and provides the community a chance to see the nationally-ranked Gamecock squads in action. The men’s team recently placed eighth at the NCAA Indoor Championships, and the women’s team placed 19th overall.

Competing schools include Atlantic 10 champion Dayton and Southern Conference champion Appalachian State in addition to Ashland, Cornell, Fort Valley State, Tennessee State and UNC-Pembroke. In-state colleges competing include Benedict, Charleston Southern, Claflin, Coastal Carolina, Coker, Morris, SC State and Voorhees.

A bevy of Gamecock All-Americans will be in action this weekend, including 2009 NCAA Champion and 2010 SEC Champion Lakya Brookins who will compete in the 100m dash (2:10 p.m.), 200m dash (3:45 p.m.) and the 4x100m relay (12:30 p.m.). Other 210 indoor All-Americans competing for the women include Gabrielle Glenn in the 100m, 200m and relays, Breehana Jacobs in the 100m, 200m and relays, and Nadonnia Rodrigues in the 4x400m relay (4:55 p.m.). School-record holder Vica Shobe will compete in the pole vault (appx. 1 p.m.).

Men’s team competitors include 2010 All-American and Team USA member Johnny Dutch running the 110m hurdles (1:55 p.m.), 400m hurdles (3:30 p.m.) and the 4x400m relay (5:05 p.m.). Booker Nunley will compete in the 110m hurdles and the 4x400m relay as well. Antonio Sales will run the 400m (1:25 p.m.) and the relay. Field event All-American Michael Zajac (hammer throw – 10 a.m.) and SEC champion Elliott Haynie (pole vault – 11:30 a.m.) will also compete at the meet.