Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Oct. 11, 2011

Three University of South Carolina defensive players, Antonio Allen, Jadeveon Clowney and Melvin Ingram, were among the 11 names added to the watch list for the 17th Chuck Bednarik Award, it was announced today.

The Chuck Bednarik Award, which goes to the College Defensive Player of the Year, has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame 1969 and the NFL Hall of Fame 1967.

Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced on October 31 and three finalists for the award will be announced November 21. The winner of the 2011 Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 8. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah’s Entertainment Atlantic City on March 2, 2012.