Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Jan. 25, 2012

COLUMBIA, S.C. – For the sixth-straight fall, South Carolina topped the Southeastern Conference Fall Academic Honor Roll. A total of 534 student-athletes were named to the 2011 Fall SEC Academic Honor Roll, Wednesday by SEC Commissioner Mike Slive.

The 2011 Fall SEC Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2011 Spring, Summer and Fall terms.

The Gamecocks had 66 student-athletes make at least one of the marks listed below, 10 more than Alabama. Georgia ranked third with 51.

Any student-athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student-athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution’s NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll. The following criteria should be followed: (1) A student-athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. (2) If a student-athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll. (3) Student-athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons. (4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution. (5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.

South Carolina’s student-athletes garnering the honor are as follows:

Football (21):
Jacob Baker
Payton Brady
Billy Byrne
A.J. Cann
Ryland Culbertson
Bruce Ellington
Travis Ford
Stephon Gilmore
Walker Inabinet
T.J. Johnson
Nick Jones
Marcus Lattimore
D.L. Moore
Davis Moore
Ronald Patrick
Connor Shaw
Seth Strickland
Dylan Thompson
Dalton Wilson
Jay Wooten
Adam Yates

Men’s Soccer (17):
Stephen Anderson
Andre Bahri
Vance Benson
Danny Cates
Chris Duzan
Trevor Hubbard
Alex Long
Daniel Lynch
Mike Mangotic
Eric Martinez
Will McGinnis
Stephen Morrissey
Ross Power
J.P. Rafferty
Chipper Root
Kevin Stam
Hunter Wyer

Women’s Soccer (18):
Natalie Aaron
Danielle Au
Ellen Fahey
Gabby Gilbert
Ali Glemser
Dani Henry
Alex Holland
Lolly Holland
Lauren Hyden
Taylor Leach
Samantha McGowan
Roya Mojarab
Maria Petroni
Kortney Rhoades
Elizabeth Sinclair
Jocelyn Spurrier
Darien Vercillo
Rae Wilson

Volleyball (10):
Taylor Bruns
Brandi Byers
Lindsey Craft
Christina Glover
Cara Howley
Megan Kent
Olivia Ryder
Teresa Stenlund
Juliette Thévenin
Paige Wheeler