Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Nov. 15, 2012

University of South Carolina sophomore defensive end Jadeveon Clowney is one of five finalists for the 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, the Charlotte Touchdown Club in conjunction with the Football Writers Association of America announced today.

The other finalists are Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones, Alabama defensive back Dee Milliner, Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o and Florida State defensive end Bjoern Werner.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy presented annually to the nation’s top NCAA defensive football player will be awarded during the annual Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet presented by ACN, scheduled for Monday, December 3, at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. All proceeds benefit the Charlotte Touchdown Club Scholarship Fund. For reservations call 704-347-2918 or visit

University of Notre Dame head football coach Brian Kelly will give the keynote address for the banquet. University of Nebraska great Larry Jacobson will receive this year’s Bronko Nagurski Legends Award presented by Florida East Coast Railway.

“The 2012 Bronko Nagurski award finalists truly represent the elite of college defensive football players,” said John Rocco, Executive Director of the Charlotte Touchdown Club. “Each of these young men has earned the honor of having his name associated with football legend Bronko Nagurski and have distinguished themselves both on and off the playing field.”

ACN is very proud to support the Charlotte Touchdown Club’s mission of promoting citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship and leadership, and we are thrilled to be the presenting sponsor of the Bronko Nagurski Awards banquet,” said ACN Board executive Dave Stevanovski. “Like football legend Bronko Nagurski and this year’s 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy finalists, ACN employees embody the qualities of hard work, determination and dedication to excellence.”

NFL Network Studio host Paul Burmeister is serving as Master of Ceremonies for this year’s Bronko Nagurski awards banquet and an NFL Network broadcast of the event is scheduled for Friday, December 7 at 4 p.m. ET.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club also honors local college and high school football players and since the club’s inception, it has raised more than $1,500,000 for student athletic scholarships throughout the Charlotte Metro Area.