Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Feb. 21, 2014

ATHENS, Ga. – For the second day in a row, seven South Carolina swimmers earned spots in the finals on day four at the SEC Championships at Gabrielsen Natatorium.

The Gamecocks saw their first qualifiers come in the second event of the morning, the men’s 200 butterfly. Despite winning his heat at 1:47.90, Eric Lethander was on the outside looking in after posting a new personal best. Carolina, though, saw it’s next three swimmers in the event all land in the C Final. Matt Navata (1:47.05) and Gerard Rodriguez (1:47.23) each came out of heat two. Michael Flach had the trio’s top mark of the prelims with a time of 1:46.32, which was 17th.

The men’s team earned its fourth spot in a C Final as Jay Warner clocked in with a time of 47.86 in the 100 backstroke.

The women picked up its only spot in the finals behind Amanda Rutqvist in the 100 breaststroke as she finished at 1:01.81 to earn a place in the C Final. In the men’s side of the event, Kevin Leithold earned the Gamecocks only trip to a B Final tonight as he touched the wall at 53.88 in the final heat. Alex Vance landed in the C Final as he posted a new personal record for the second-straight day in the prelims at 54.96.

Despite not sending a diver into the finals, all three Gamecocks still scored points in the men’s platform. Cole Miller (339.65) was less than seven points out of qualifying for the finals as he finished in 10th. Jordan Gotro was just under 10 points behind his teammate as he was 11th. Andrew Helmich ended his day in 22nd with 241.25 points.

Carolina’s night will begin with its trio in the 200 butterfly, which will be the second event of the evening. Finals night will are live on ESPN3 starting at 6 p.m. ET.

SEC Championships Day 4 Prelims Results

Women’s 200 Butterfly
31) Elisabeth Worrell 2:01. 46
36) Annika Jonsson 2:02.52
40) Charlotte Ward 2:0370
46) Caroline Bixler 2:05.70

Men’s 200 Butterfly
17) Michael Flach 1:46.32
20) Matt Navata 1:47.05
24) Gerard Rodriguez 1:47.23
27) Eric Lethander 1:47.90

Women’s 100 Backstroke
30) Megan Carlson 55.76
34) Ashleigh Ferguson 56.10
41) Lindsay Pierce 56.68
44) Lauren Rosenberg 57.34
46) Caroline Petrone 59.31

Men’s 100 Backstroke
18) Jay Warner 47.86
27) Michael Covert 48.31
35) Alex Eiden 49.13
37) Jonathan Boland 49.06

Women’s 100 Breaststroke
21) Amanda Rutqvist 1:01.81
29) Ellen Johnson 1:03.29

Men’s 100 Breaststroke
12) Kevin Leithold 53.88
22) Alex Vance 54.96
25) Jared Kauffman 55.17
29) Evan Mahoney 55.92

Men’s Platform Diving
10) Cole Miller 339.65
11) Jordan Gotro 329.85
22) Andrew Helmich 241.25