Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Murphy Named PING Honorable Mention All-American
Men's Golf  . 

Murphy Named PING Honorable Mention All-American

June 19, 2014

COLUMBIA, S.C. — South Carolina’s Will Murphy has been named to the PING Honorable Mention All-America Team, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced Thursday.

Murphy, a rising senior, is the 20th Gamecock golfer to receive All-America honors all-time. It’s the second-straight year a Carolina golfer has been named to the team, as Matt NeSmith garnered honorable mention honors a year ago as a freshman. Murphy also earned All-America honors this season with a tie for 15th finish at the NCAA Championship.

A native of Columbia, S.C., Murphy played a key role in South Carolina’s postseason run, leading the Gamecocks to fifth-place finishes at the SEC Championship and NCAA Eugene Regional and a ninth-place finish at the NCAA Championship, which is the program’s second-highest finish all-time at the event. He finished tied for fifth at the SEC Championship with a career-low 54-hole total of 205 (-5). At the NCAA Championship, Murphy earned his first career All-America honor by finishing tied for 15th with a total of 208 (-2), the lowest 54-hole NCAA Championship total in program history.

On the season, Murphy played in all 12 tournaments and helped the Gamecocks match the school record with nine top-five finishes, including three wins. He recorded five top-20 finishes and wrapped up the season with a stroke average of 72.63, which is the lowest in a single season by a junior in school history.

PING All-America Teams
First Team

Julien Brun, TCU
Greg Eason, UCF
Brandon Hagy, California
Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech
Robby Shelton, Alabama
Joel Stalter, California
Scott Vincent, Virginia Tech
Cameron Wilson, Stanford
Bobby Wyatt, Alabama

Second Team
Brian Campbell, Illinois
Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas
Wyndham Clark, Oklahoma State
Bryson Dechambeau, SMU
Joey Garber, Georgia
Gavin Green, New Mexico
Denny McCarthy, Virginia
Trey Mullinax, Alabama
Seth Reeves, Georgia Tech
Roman Robledo, Houston

Third Team
Emilio Cuartero, Missouri
Trevor Cone, Virginia Tech
Paul Dunne, UAB
Talor Gooch, Oklahoma State
Ricardo Gouveia, UCF
Rico Hoey, Southern California
Stewart Jolly, LSU
Chase Koepka, USF
Jack Maguire, Florida State
Cory Whitsett, Alabama

Honorable Mention
David Boote, Stanford
Niclas Carlsson, Auburn
Lorens Chan, UCLA
Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington
Michael Cromie, Georgia
Charlie Danielson, Illinois
Thomas Detry, Illinois
Grant Forrest, San Diego
Jonathan Garrick, UCLA
Toni Hakula, Texas
Beau Hossler, Texas
Marco Iten, Austin Peay
Kyle Jones, Baylor
MJ Maguire, North Florida
Lee McCoy, Georgia
Jose Mendez, Minnesota
Will Murphy, South Carolina
Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State
Erik Oja, Arizona
Anthony Paolucci, Southern California
Taylor Pendrith, Kent State
JT Poston, Western Carolina
Jon Rahm, Arizona State
Chris Robb, Chattanooga
James Ross, Houston
Trey Rule, Mercer
Jonathan Sanders, Washington
Ben Taylor, LSU
Curtis Thompson, LSU
Ryan Zech, Missouri