Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Nov. 2, 2014

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – After leading the Gamecocks with 15 points in the regular season, forward Savannah McCaskill was named SEC Freshman of the Year, the league office announced today. Seniors Sabrina D’Angelo and Taylor Leach were selected to the All-SEC First Team while McCaskill also earned a spot on the All-SEC Second Team and was named to the All-Freshman team.

McCaskill scored four of her team-leading five goals in conference play, a total that leads the league rookies. Her 10 points in conference play also leads the pack. The highlight of the Chapin, S.C., native’s season came in the 3-2 win over then-No. 5 Florida on Oct. 16. McCaskill scored two goals for the Gamecocks in the match, including the 89th minute game-winner. For her performance against the Gators, McCaskill earned her second SEC Freshman of the Week honor, becoming the first Gamecock to earn multiple freshman of the week recognitions.

The honor is the third SEC Freshman of the Year accolade for a Gamecock. D’Angelo last earned the honor for the Gamecocks in 2011 while Ashley Kirk was the first in program history in 2004. McCaskill was the only member of the All-Freshman team to also earn an All-SEC nod, earning placement on the second team.

“I’m very excited for her and the program. I think she represents our program very well and has a very promising future for us,” South Carolina head coach Shelley Smith said. “I’m especially proud that she’s from Columbia and stayed nearby for collegiate career and has been doing what she’s capable of. I’m looking forward to seeing her develop for many more years. She’s been a great addition to our team. Her hard work and overall ability has been a big help to us this year. I’m glad she’s being honored for that effort.”

With her spot on the first team, D’Angelo has earned All-SEC placement each year of her career. This season, D’Angelo has notched nine shutouts, bringing her career total to 28, just three behind school record holder Mollie Patton. D’Angelo has allowed just 0.57 goals a game this season and has seen more than one goal scored on her just twice in 2014 (3-2 W vs. No. 5 Florida, 2-2 T at No. 6 Texas A&M). In all, just 11 goals have been scored on D’Angelo this year, a total that tops the SEC. No other league team has allowed less than 16 goals this season.

Leach earned a selection to the All-SEC First Team for the second-straight season after captaining the top defense in the conference yet again. The center back and the Gamecocks led the conference in nearly every statistical average, including goals allowed (11), goals against average (0.58), shots on goal allowed (60) and points allowed (31). The South Carolina backline limited 10 of its 11 league opponents to 5 shots on goal or less. Leach also scored a pair of goals in the season opener at ECU.

No. 5 seed South Carolina takes on No. 4 seed Missouri in the SEC Tournament quarterfinals on Wednesday in Orange Beach, Ala. Kickoff between the Gamecocks and Tigers is set for 8:30 p.m. ET. The SEC Network will broadcast the match.

2014 SEC Women’s Soccer Awards
First Team All-SEC
Forward: Bianca Brinson, Texas A&M
Forward: Simone Charley, Vanderbilt
Forward: Savannah Jordan, Florida
Forward: Annie Kunz, Texas A&M
Midfielder: Kaysie Clark, Missouri
Midfielder: Shea Groom, Texas A&M
Midfielder: Gabby Seiler, Georgia
Midfielder: Havana Solaun, Florida
Defender: Tessa Andujar, Florida
Defender: Arin Gilliland, Kentucky
Defender: Taylor Leach, South Carolina
Defender: Meghan Streight, Texas A&M
Defender: Christen Westphal, Florida
Goalkeeper: Sabrina D’Angelo, South Carolina

Second Team All-SEC
Forward: Marion Crowder, Georgia
Forward: Jade Klump, Kentucky
Forward: Savannah McCaskill, South Carolina
Forward: Laura Lee Smith, Alabama
Midfielder: Kelley Monogue, Texas A&M
Midfielder: Courtney Raetzman, Kentucky
Midfielder: Casie Ramsier, Auburn
Midfielder: Reagan Russell, Missouri
Midfielder: Merel van Dongen, Alabama
Defender: Janae Cousineau, Texas A&M
Defender: Claire Falknor, Florida
Defender: Kala Faulkner, Auburn
Defender: Candace Johnson, Missouri
Goalkeeper: Emily Rusk, Alabama

All-Freshman Team
Carlyn Baldwin, Tennessee
Jorian Baucom, LSU
Taylor Braun, Kentucky
Kaitlyn Clark, Missouri
Kristen Dodson, Auburn
Mallory Eubanks, Mississippi State
Kelsey Killean, Georgia
Savannah McCaskill, South Carolina
McKayla Paulson, Texas A&M
Lydia Simmons, Vanderbilt
Alexis Urch, LSU

Coach of the Year
G Guerrieri, Texas A&M

Offensive Player of the Year
Shea Groom, Texas A&M

Defensive Player of the Year
Arin Gilliland, Kentucky

Freshman of the Year
Savannah McCaskill, South Carolina

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Laura Lee Smith, Alabama