Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Fry Nominated for Burlsworth Trophy
Football  . 

Fry Nominated for Burlsworth Trophy

Nov. 12, 2014

University of South Carolina sophomore placekicker Elliott Fry is one of 55 players nominated for the 2014 Burlsworth Trophy, it was announced today.

In the award’s fifth year, the Trophy honors Brandon Burlsworth, former University of Arkansas walk-on and All-American offensive lineman.

The award will be given to the collegiate player who began their career as a walk-on and has shown outstanding performance on the field. Nominees must have begun their first season of participation with a D1 football program without financial aid of any kind from their athletic department.

Fry, a six-foot, 165-pounder from Frisco, Texas, went from unheralded walk-on to a spot on the 2013 SEC All-Freshman team. This season, he is a semifinalist for the Lou Groza Award, which recognizes the nation’s top placekicker, and was recognized on the midseason All-SEC first team by both Phil Steele and

“As we enter our 5th year of the Burlsworth Trophy, I am again impressed by the quality of committed athletes that have been selected,” said Marty Burlsworth, CEO and founder of the Burlsworth Foundation and older brother of Brandon. “They each represent what the Burlsworth Trophy stands for: hard work, dedication to a sport and to their school and above all else, a commitment to excel at the highest level.”

Without one D1 scholarship offer, Brandon Burlsworth walked on to the Razorback team in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter and was eventually named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL draft, but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children who have limited opportunities.

Springdale Rotary Club will host a banquet on Dec. 8th in Springdale, Ark. to honor the finalists and to announce the 2014 winner.