Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

July 16, 2015

The competiveness of the Southeastern Conference was showcased in the annual media voting at SEC Media Days, as for the first time in the 23-year history in the poll, media were divided on divisional champion and overall SEC Champion.

By a narrow margin, the Auburn Tigers were picked by media in attendance to capture the 2015 SEC Championship. Auburn received 96 SEC Championship votes, while the Alabama Crimson Tide was close behind with 80. The Georgia Bulldogs were third with 28 votes.

Alabama, however, was picked to win the SEC Western Division with 1,405 total points, while Auburn was second with 1,362. Alabama received 92 first-place votes in the West, while Auburn collected 108. The Crimson Tide won the Western Division vote due to receiving just three votes for fourth place or lower in the Western Division, while Auburn received 26 such votes. Points were awarded on a 7-6-5-4-3-2-1 scale.

Georgia was selected to win the SEC Eastern Division with 1,498 points, including 166 first-place votes. Tennessee was second with 1,231 points and 36 votes to win the division, while Missouri was third with 1,196 total points. The two-time defending East representative in the SEC Championship game also received 20 votes to win a third consecutive division title.

Five times since 1992 the SEC Media Days predicted champion has proceeded to win the SEC Championship, including Alabama last season.

The preseason All-SEC Team will be announced on Friday.

WESTERN DIVISION (1st Place votes in parenthesis)

School Points

Alabama (92) 1405

Auburn (108) 1362

LSU (10) 870

Arkansas (6) 821

Ole Miss (3) 732

Texas A&M (4) 628

Mississippi State (2) 482

EASTERN DIVISION (1st Place votes in parenthesis)

School Points

Georgia (166) 1498

Tennessee (36) 1231

Missouri (20) 1196

South Carolina (1) 830

Florida (1) 768

Kentucky (1) 534

Vanderbilt 243


School Points

Auburn 96

Alabama 80

Georgia 28


Ole Miss 3

Arkansas 3

Texas A&M 2

Tennessee 2

Mississippi State 1

Florida 1