Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Feb. 26, 2017

COLUMBIA, S.C. — It was a night of celebration for South Carolina women’s soccer when the Gamecocks held their annual team banquet Saturday in the Campus Room at Capstone.

Carolina looked back at its historic 2016 season and last fall’s SEC Regular-Season Title. After opening remarks from head coach Shelley Smith and University of South Carolina President Harris Pastides, several Gamecocks were recognized for their accomplishments on and off the field. Kaleigh Kurtz was named Carolina’s Defensive Player of the Year, while rising senior Savannah McCaskill earned Offensive Player of the Year laurels. A complete list of Saturday’s award winners can be seen below.

The night continued with each class presenting their fellow teammates with their SEC Championship rings. The Gamecocks then thanked several members of the coaching and support staff before a video montage commemorating the historic 2016 season was shown. Saturday’s event concluded with a special thank you video for Smith and associate head coach Jamie Smith on last year’s record-setting campaign. Smith earned her 200th career win in the fall in Carolina’s 7-0 victory over Alabama State in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament.

The Gamecocks enjoyed the finest season in program history in 2016, setting school single-season records for wins (21), goals (51) and goals against average (0.41). Carolina’s five victories over ranked opponents also marked a program record, and the team finished the regular season as the only unbeaten squad (17-0-1) in Division I. The Gamecocks, who boasted the top winning percentage (.896) nationally, grabbed the school’s first NCAA Tournament No. 1 seed and reached the Elite Eight for the second time in three years.

Team Award Winners
Co-Rookies of the Year ââ’¬” Defender Tatumn Milazzo and goalkeeper Mikayla Krzeczowski
Defensive Player of the Year ââ’¬” Center back Kaleigh Kurtz
Offensive Player of the Year ââ’¬” Striker Savannah McCaskill
Team MVP ââ’¬” Midfielder Chelsea Drennan
Teammate of the Year ââ’¬” Midfielder Dominique Babbitt