Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Chelsea Drennan named President’s Award winner at annual event.

April 17, 2017


COLUMBIA, S.C. – The University of South Carolina Athletics Department held its annual Gamecock Gala on Monday evening at Colonial Life Arena. The event honored the University’s student-athletes for their accomplishments during the 2016-17 campaign. Student-athletes, administrators, coaches and special guests attended the elegant event, which featured a red carpet entrance, heavy hors d’oeuvres and a special awards ceremony with presentations and video features.

The winner of this year’s President’s Award, Chelsea Drennan from the women’s soccer team, served as the team captain for her squad this season, helping to lead Carolina to a program-record 21 wins and the 2016 SEC Regular-Season Title. She anchored the Gamecock midfield during her time in the Garnet and Black, appearing in every match throughout her four-year career. She concluded her time in uniform as the women’s soccer program’s all-time assists leader with 40, and she is ranked fourth in school history with 66 career points. Following an outstanding senior campaign, she earned NSCAA Second-Team All-America honors and was tabbed an NSCAA First-Team Scholar All-American, in addition to earning SEC Academic Honor Roll accolades for the fourth-straight year. This Gamecock is a standout not only on the field and in the classroom, but also in the community, volunteering for organizations such as Meals on Wheels and Harvest Hope Food Bank during her Carolina career.

A complete list of award winners for the 2017 Gamecock Gala is listed below:

SEC H. Boyd McWhorter Award: Chelsea Drennan (women’s soccer), Jonathan Boland (swimming and diving)
SEC Brad Davis Community Service Award: Maya Evans (track and field), Ive Burnett (men’s soccer)
New Student-Athletes of the Year: Tyasha Harris (women’s basketball), Mikayla Krzeczowski (women’s soccer), Jake Bentley (football)
Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Bailey Mierzejewski (equestrian), Jonathan Boland (swimming and diving)
Community Outreach Team of the Year: Indoor Volleyball
Athletes of the Year: A’ja Wilson (women’s basketball), Sindarius Thornwell (men’s basketball)
Gamecock Inspiration Award: Elliott Fry (football)
President’s Award: Chelsea Drennan (women’s soccer)

Team MVPs:
Baseball (2016 season): Gene Cone
Women’s Basketball: A’ja Wilson
Men’s Basketball: Sindarius Thornwell
Beach Volleyball: co-MVPs, Adrianna Culbert and Katie Zimmerman
Cheerleading: Caroline Rietkovich
Carolina Girls Dance Team: Addison Lewis
Cross Country: Mary Reiser
Equestrian: Bailey Mierzejewski
Football: co-MVPs, Jake Bentley, Deebo Samuel
Women’s Golf: Katelyn Dambaugh
Men’s Golf: Keenan Huskey
Women’s Soccer: Chelsea Drennan
Men’s Soccer: Julian Veen Uldal
Softball (2016 season): Kaylea Snaer
Women’s Swimming and Diving: Emma Barksdale
Men’s Swimming and Diving: Akram Mahmoud
Women’s Tennis: Brigit Folland
Men’s Tennis: Harrison O’Keefe
Women’s Outdoor Track and Field (2016 season): Natasha Dicks
Women’s Indoor Track and Field: Rougui Sow
Men’s Outdoor Track and Field (2016 season): Dondre Echols
Men’s Indoor Track and Field: Josh Awotunde
Volleyball: Mikayla Shields