Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Fisk Officially Named to England U20 World Cup Team
Women's Soccer  . 

Fisk Officially Named to England U20 World Cup Team

The Football Association (The FA) announced today the final 21-players for England’s U20 team in preparation for the 2018 FIFA Women’s U20 World Cup next month.

The Gamecock’s rising junior Grace Fisk was named as one of the six defenders for the squad that will begin play in the Brittany region of France between August 5-24. Fisk will remain with England’s team until they are finished in France and will rejoin the South Carolina women’s soccer program shortly after.

A mainstay in England’s Youth National teams, Fisk has been a part of U15, U17, U18 and U19 levels, playing over 30 matches for England and served as the team captain for the U15, U17 and U19 squads.

Fisk was named SEC Defensive Player of the Year in 2017 in her first season with the Gamecocks after missing the beginning of the season also participating with England. She was named to the All-SEC First Team, United Soccer Coaches All-Southeast Region First Team and proved to be outstanding in the classroom as she was an SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll honoree.

England will travel to France this Thursday to finish their preparations. Fisk and the rest of her team will play North Korea on Aug. 5, then will take on Brazil before finishing group play against Mexico four days later.

Make sure to follow the Gamecocks on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram so you do not miss anything as the 2018 season swiftly approaches.

The full squad:

Goalkeepers: Sandy MacIver (Clemson University), Emily Ramsey (Manchester United), Ellie Roebuck (Manchester City)

Defenders: Megan Finnigan (Everton), Grace Fisk (University of South Carolina), Taylor Hinds (Everton), Esme Morgan (Manchester City), Mayumi Pacheco (Doncaster Rovers Belles), Anna Patten (Florida State University)

Midfielders: Georgia Allen (Syracuse University), Zoe Cross (University of Missouri), Ali Johnson (Unattached), Chloe Peplow (Brighton & Hove Albion), Mollie Rouse (Universacity of Louisville)

Forwards: Rinsola Babajide (Liverpool), Niamh Charles (Liverpool), Lauren Hemp (Manchester City), Chloe Kelly (Everton), Alessia Russo (University of North Carolina), Georgia Stanway (Manchester City), Charlie Wellings (Birmingham City).