Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Wilson Named PING All-Southeast Region
Men's Golf  . 

Wilson Named PING All-Southeast Region

Senior led team in every major statistical category in 2019-20 season

NORMAN, Okla. — Senior Jamie Wilson was named to the 2020 PING All-Southeast Region team the Golf Coaches Association of America announced late Thursday afternoon. It marks the first postseason recognition of his career. 

The four-year starter, who hails from Mount Pleasant, S.C., led the Gamecocks in scoring average (70.86), rounds of par or better (14) and top-20 finishes (5) during the shortened 2019-20 campaign. He finished in the top-10 three times in seven starts. Wilson T-4th at the J.T. Poston Invitational back in the fall after logging a career-best round of 203 (-10). He shot 64 (-7) in the second round, which T-4th lowest 18-hole score in program history, and helped the team break the 54-hole, school scoring record at 806 (-46). Wilson nearly won his first collegiate tournament in the regular season finale at the General Hackler Championship (March 9-10). He was in the lead on the back nine before a couple of bogeys late in the round and would ultimately finish sixth to pace the Gamecocks in Myrtle Beach. 

Wilson boast a career scoring average of 72.55, which puts him seventh all-time at South Carolina. His 70.86 average in 2019-20 is the fifth-best mark in program history, trailing only four All-Americans in Will Starke (70.27), Matt NeSmith (70.51), Scott Stevens (70.59) and Keenan Huskey (70.63). 

Wilson finished the season ranked No. 59 nationally in the final Golfstat Player Rankings and T-5th in the SEC

Division I PING All-Southeast Region Team
John Augenstein, Vanderbilt
John Axelson, Florida
Garrett Barber, LSU
Reid Bedell, USC-Upstate
Albin Bergstrom, USF
Ricky Castillo, Florida
Spencer Cross, Tennessee
Reid Davenport, Vanderbilt
Connor Futrell, Troy
Luke Gifford, USF
Grayson Huff, Auburn
Isaiah Jackson, Memphis
Andrew Kozan, Auburn
Jamie Li, Florida State
Rhys Nevin, Tennessee
Harrison Ott, Vanderbilt
John Pak, Florida State
Trent Phillips, Georgia
Nolan Ray, Lipscomb
Jovan Rebula, Auburn
Jackson Suber, Ole Miss
Davis Thompson, Georgia
Johnny Travale, UCF
William Walker III, UAB
Jamie Wilson, South Carolina

Click here to view the full team.