Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Three Gamecocks Named to 2023 NFF Hampshire Honor Society
Football  . 

Three Gamecocks Named to 2023 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced today the members of the 2023 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of the NCAA, NAIA and sprint football, who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers.

Jovaughn Gwyn, Tyreek Johnson and Tyshawn Wannamaker represented the University of South Carolina Gamecocks among the elite group of 1,734 players from 328 schools that qualified for membership in 2023, setting a record for the number of members in a single year during the program’s 17-year history.

Gwyn graduated last May with a degree in information science. Johnson earned his degree in integrated information technology and is working on a Master’s in health information technology. Wannamaker is an interdisciplinary studies major.

“We are thrilled to honor another impressive group of athletes as part of this year’s Hampshire Honor Society,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “Over the last 17 years, the Hampshire Honor Society has served as a powerful vehicle for schools to recognize their college football players who have distinguished themselves both academically and athletically, and we congratulate the schools and each of these young men for their commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives.”

Nominated by their respective schools, members of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society must be either:
• A senior player, who will graduate this spring/summer, and just completed his final year of playing eligibility in 2022; or
• A graduated player, who has been out of high school at least (3) years;
And must have:
• Attained a minimum undergraduate cumulative GPA of 3.2 (4.0 scale); and
• Been starters or significant contributors throughout the 2022 season.

The Hampshire Foundation is the charitable arm of The Hampshire Companies, a privately‐held, fully‐integrated real estate firm that has more than 60 years of hands‐on, cycle‐tested experience in acquiring, developing, leasing, repositioning, managing, financing and disposing of real estate. Founded by Jon F. Hanson, who served as NFF Chairman from 1994‐2006, Hampshire is headquartered in Morristown, New Jersey.

Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl “Red” Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship, and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters in 47 states, NFF programs include the selection and induction of members of the College Football Hall of Fame; the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta; Future For Football; The William V. Campbell Trophy®; the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments; the NFF National High School Academic Excellence Awards & Hatchell Cup presented by the Original Bob’s Steak & Chop House; and a series of initiatives to honor the legends of the past and inspire the leaders of the future. NFF corporate partners include Catapult, Delta Air Lines, Fidelity Investments, Hanold Associates Executive Search, Jostens, the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, the New York Athletic Club, the Pasadena Tournament of Roses, the Rose Bowl Legacy Foundation and the Sports Business Journal.