Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Legette Named 2023 Blanchard-Rogers Trophy Winner
Football  . 

Legette Named 2023 Blanchard-Rogers Trophy Winner

The South Carolina Football Hall of Fame (SCFHOF) has named University of South Carolina star All-SEC receiver Xavier Legette winner of the 2023 Blanchard-Rogers Trophy. He will be honored at the 11th Annual Enshrinement Ceremony on April 18, 2024, at Hotel Hartness in Greenville, S.C.

The Blanchard-Rogers Trophy honors South Carolina’s most outstanding college football player (or SC’s Heisman) for the 2023 season.

Legette is from Mullins, S.C. and a fifth-year senior receiver for the Gamecocks. In 2023, he finished with 71 receptions for 1,255 yards and scored seven touchdowns. The playmaker from Mullins High School averaged 17.7 yards per catch and 104.6 yards per game. He produced six games over 100 yards receiving, four of which equaled 178 yards or more. The 1,255 receiving yards in a single-season was the second-highest number (Alshon Jeffrey/2010/1,517 yards) in Gamecock program history. Legette’s super senior campaign led him to receive many All-SEC honors and All-American teams, along with invitations to the Reese’s Senior Bowl and NFL Combine. Regarding the 2023 season, he was named a Rex Enright Team Captain, and received program season awards for co-Steve Wadiak Team MVP, Steve Spurrier Award- MVP Offense, and Most Outstanding Senior.

Legette graduated from Mullins High School in 2019 where he was rated the 10th-best prospect in the state of South Carolina, and the 40th ranked “athlete” in the country by 247Sports Composite. He played quarterback in his senior year of high school, leading his team to the second round of the state playoffs. Legette will participate at the NFL Combine and is projected to be a top receiver prospect in the upcoming 2024 NFL Draft. He is represented by Greenville, S.C. based Everett Sports Marketing (ESM).

The Blanchard-Rogers Trophy is named after Heisman Trophy winners Felix “Doc” Blanchard (McColl, S.C./Army/1945) and George Rogers (USC/1980). The trophy has been used to honor the South Carolina Collegiate Player of the Year since the 2016 season. The collegiate player of the year award has been given out by the SCFHOF annually since the 2013 season.