Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Targgart Named SEC Men’s Co-Scholar Athlete of the Year
Track and Field  . 

Targgart Named SEC Men’s Co-Scholar Athlete of the Year

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (Feb. 21, 2024) – University of South Carolina senior Dylan Targgart has been named SEC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the league office announced on Wednesday. Targgart shares the award with Ryan Kinnane (Auburn), Mitchell Weber (Missouri) and Jacob Lewis (Tennessee).

A native of Coldwater, Mich., Targgart holds a 3.969 grade point average, and will graduate this May with a degree in Finance from the University of South Carolina. Targgart is a two-time Spring SEC Academic Honor Roll recipient and was also named to the 2023 College Sports Communicators (CSC) Academic All-District team.

This season, Targgart has steadily increased his performance and now ranks eighth in the NCAA in the indoor shot put this season after throwing 19.76m at the Razorback Invitational. The Michigan native jumped up the all-time program leaderboard in the indoor shot put with his performance in Fayetteville, ranking third in Gamecock history.

Targgart is the sixth Gamecock to win SEC Scholar-Athlete honors in track & field and just the third male to ever win the award, including the second indoor recipient. Most recently, sprinter Aliyah Abrams won the award in 2019 during the outdoor season. Ncincilili Titi was the most recent Gamecock male student-athlete to win the award, doing so in 2018. NCAA high jump champion Jeannelle Scheper was honored in 2015, future Olympic gold medalist Natasha Hastings won the award in 2007, and four-time All-American pole-vaulter Marvin Reitze was honored in 2012.

Targgart and the Gamecocks open the 2024 SEC Indoor Championships Friday in Fayetteville, Ark. The annual conference meet will be a two-day meet, concluding on Saturday, with live coverage available on SEC Network+.