Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

April 7, 2008

Click HERE for the official website of USA Swimming
Click HERE for the official website of the FINA 2008 World Championships
Click HERE for the official website of the World Championship Sports Network

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina swimmer Nicholas Walkotten will travel to Manchester, England, this week as a member of the 2008 FINA Short Course United States World Championship Team that will compete at the Ninth Annual FINA World Championships, April 9-13 at the Manchester Evening News Arena. Walkotten joins 26 of the nation’s top swimmers, including five Olympians, who will represent the United States at the event. The World Championship Sports Network is providing FREE, live-streaming video for the entire event via their website (

Over 800 athletes, representing 130 different countries will compete in the five-day international event, as several Olympic hopefuls in the pool will provide for intense competition.

“This is a great honor for Nick to represent the United States at the World Championships,” South Carolina head swimming coach McGee Moody said. “His selection really says a lot for our program and shows what heights we aim to reach in the future.”

World record-holder Ryan Lochte leads the U.S. men’s team, which also includes his 2004 Olympic teammates Larsen Jensen and Mark Gangloff. On the women’s side, 2004 Olympians Margaret Hoelzer and Rachel Komisarz headline the field.

The U.S. swimmers were chosen to compete at the Short Course World Championships based upon their performances at the ConocoPhillips USA Swimming Short Course National Championships, Nov. 29-Dec. 1, 2007.

2008 FINA Short Course World Championships Roster – MEN
Name, Hometown/Team(s)
Nathan Adrian, Bremerton, Wash. / The Race Club
Randall Bal, Fair Oaks, Calif. / Coral Springs Swim Club
Chris DeJong, Holland, Mich. / Club Wolverine
Mark Gangloff, Akron, Ohio / Mecklenburg Aquatic Club
Ryan Hurley, Potomac, Md. /Curl Burke Swim Club
Larsen Jensen, Bakersfield, Calif. / Trojan Swim Club
Ryan Lochte, Daytona Beach, Fla. / Daytona Beach Swimming
Bryan Lundquist, Marietta, Ga. / Stingrays
Robert Margalis, Flushing, N.Y. / Athens Bulldog Swim Club
Peter Marshall, Atlanta, Ga. / Trojan Swim Club
Randall Tom, Wailuku, Hawaii / UC Irvine
Doug Van Wie, Charlotte, N.C. / Mecklenburg Aquatic Club
Nick Walkotten, Hudsonville, Mich. / University of South Carolina

Men’s Head Coach: Gregg Troy (Gator Swim Club)
Men’s Assistant Coach: Dave Salo (Trojan Swim Club), Brian Pajer (Aquazot Swim Club)