Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Dec. 10, 2009

The University of South Carolina senior linebacker has been named first-team All-America by the Walter Camp Football Foundation (WCFF), it was announced Thursday night.

Norwood, a 6-1, 252-pounder from Acworth, Ga., becomes the 18th player in Carolina history and the first since Ko Simpson in 2005 to earn first-team All-America accolades. He is the first Gamecock to make the Walter Camp team since Del Wilkes in 1984. The Walter Camp All-America team is voted on by the Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.

Norwood is a three-time first-team All-SEC selection according to the league’s coaches and has been named first-team All-SEC by the Associated Press in each of the last two years after earning second team honors as a sophomore. He was one of five finalists for the 2009 Butkus Award. Norwood is Carolina’s all-time leader in both sacks (29.0) and tackles for loss (54.5) and is the SEC active leader in both categories.

In 2009, Norwood ranks second on the squad with 71 tackles including 49 solo stops. He is third in the SEC in sacks (7.0) and is tied for eighth with 11.5 tackles for loss. He leads the team with two interceptions and with three blocked kicks. He has been credited with 11 quarterback hurries, three pass breakups and a fumble recovery.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and continue the tradition of selecting an annual All-America team.

Norwood will have the opportunity to attend the Walter Camp Awards Weekend, which is scheduled for the weekend of January 14-16, 2010 in New Haven, Conn.