Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Nov. 10, 2010

By Andrew Kitick
Assistant Media Relations Director

Columbia, S.C. – The South Carolina baseball team held its fall banquet this past weekend at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. The program included team awards for the 2010 season, a video tribute to the national championship team, the first unveiling of the championship rings, speeches from school president Dr. Harris Pastides and athletics director Eric Hyman and an introduction to the 2011 team.

media-icon-photogallery.gif Baseball Banquet Photo Gallery

2010 Award Winners

Strength & Conditioning Award (Position Players) – Nick Ebert
Strength & Conditioning Award (Pitchers) – Sam Dyson
Fighting Gamecock Award – Adrian Morales
Kip Bouknight Award (best first-year pitcher) – Jose Mata
Tom Price Award (awarded to player who shows improvement, dedication and work ethic) – Kyle Enders
Golden Glove Award – Bobby Haney
Irby Raines Award (coaches’ award) – Whit Merrifield
Sarge Frye Award – (awarded to player who shows class and integrity on and off the field) – Jay Brown
Fred Brinkman Award – (awarded to player who provides inspiration to his teammates, coaches and fans) – Brady Thomas
Rookie of the Year Award – Christian Walker
Mr. Clutch (Offense) Award – Evan Marzilli
Mr. Clutch (Pitcher) Award – Michael Roth
Best Reliever Award – Matt Price
Most Outstanding Position Player – Jackie Bradley Jr.
Most Outstanding Pitcher – Blake Cooper
Most Outstanding Player at College World Series – Jackie Bradley Jr.

Position Player of the Fall – Scott Wingo
Pitcher of the Fall – Tyler Webb