Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Dec. 7, 2010

All-SEC Team by Coaches in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Columbia, S.C. – Six members of the South Carolina football tem earned All-SEC honors by the coaches, it was announced Tuesday by the conference office. Freshman running back Marcus Lattimore, sophomore wide receiver Alshon Jeffery and sophomore cornerback Stephon Gilmore earned first-team honors with senior offensive lineman Garrett Chisolm, senior defensive end Cliff Matthews and sophomore defensive end Devin Taylor second-team selections.

Heading into the Chick-fil-A Bowl, Lattimore has carried 248 times for 1,198 yards and is third highest in single-season rushing yards at Carolina. Lattimore’s 99.8 yards rushing per game is the highest by a running back in the SEC and second highest in the league among all offensive players. He is also second in the league in scoring with his 19 touchdowns. Jeffery, a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award and an AFCA All-America selection, is the SEC’s leading receiver and has set the single-season Carolina record for receptions (79) as well as yards (1,387). Gilmore currently leads the team in tackles with 71 from his cornerback position and tied for the team lead with two interceptions.

Chisolm started 11 of 12 games at his left guard position. He was a semifinalist for the William V. Campbell Award (formerly known as Draddy Award) and is currently nominated for the Rudy Award. Taylor and Matthews were part of a defense that finished first in the SEC in rush defense (104.3 yards allowed per game) and sacks (3.00 average per game). Matthews has 38 tackles on the year including 6.5 for loss as well as 4.5 sacks. He has forced three fumbles as well along with six quarterback hurries and a pass breakup. Taylor is fourth in the league with 7.5 sacks; eighth with 12 tackles for loss and 15th with nine pass breakups.

The All-SEC squad had 12 first-team seniors, 12 juniors, two sophomores and one freshman. South Carolina running back Marcus Lattimore was the only freshman. LSU junior Patrick Peterson made the first team twice – once as a return specialist and once as a defensive back. Trent Richardson of Alabama and Randall Cobb of Kentucky were also both recognized at two positions.

Nick Bell of Mississippi State was named honorary captain of the 2010 All-SEC squad.

The SEC individual award winners will be released on Wednesday and the SEC All-Freshman Team will be announced on Thursday.