Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Dec. 8, 2011

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The University of South Carolina placed three players on the SEC All-Freshman team as selected by the league’s 12 coaches, the conference office announced today.

Representing South Carolina on the squad are defensive end Jadeveon Clowney, all-purpose back Bruce Ellington and offensive lineman A.J. Cann. Clowney was named to the coaches’ second-team All-SEC squad on Tuesday and was named the SEC Freshman of the Year on Wednesday. Ellington also earned SEC All-Freshman honors in basketball last season. Cann was the only Gamecock freshman to start every game during the 2011 campaign.

Freshman All-SEC

Honorary Captain Garrett Uekman, Tight End, Arkansas

TE – Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State
OL – A.J. Cann, South Carolina
OL – Marcus Jackson, Tennessee
OL – Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama
OL – Chaz Green, Florida
C – Reese Dismukes, Auburn
WR – Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia
WR – Odell Beckham Jr., LSU
QB – Maxwell Smith, Kentucky
RB – Isaiah Crowell, Georgia
RB – Kenny Hilliard, LSU
AP – Bruce Ellington, South Carolina

DL – Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
DL – Trey Flowers, Arkansas
DL – Anthony Johnson, LSU
DL – Kaleb Eulls, Mississippi State
LB – A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
LB -Curt Maggitt, Tennessee
LB – Serderius Bryant, Ole Miss
DB – Brian Randolph, Tennessee
DB -Vinnie Sunseri, Alabama
DB – Pop Saunders, Florida
DB – Tevin Mitchel, Arkansas

Special Teams
PK – James Hairston, LSU
P – Brad Wing, LSU
RS – Marquel Wade, Arkansas