Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Dec. 14, 2011

University of South Carolina senior defensive end Melvin Ingram has been named to the 2011 Associated Press first-team All-America squad, while senior safety Antonio Allen was named to the second team, it was announced today.

Ingram, a 6-2, 276-pounder from Hamlet, N.C., led the Gamecocks with 13.5 tackles for loss and 8.5 sacks. He also intercepted two passes, was credited with six quarterback hurries and scored three touchdowns, including a 68-yard scamper on a fake punt in the Gamecocks’ win at Georgia. He was previously named first-team All-America by AFCA, the Walter Camp Football Foundation and

Allen, a 6-2, 202-pounder from Ocala, Fla., led the Gamecocks with 81 tackles. He was the only player in the SEC to rank among the league’s top-10 in tackles, interceptions, fumbles forced and fumbles recovered.



Quarterback — Robert Griffin III, junior, Baylor.

Running backs — Montee Ball, junior, Wisconsin; Trent Richardson, junior, Alabama.

Tackles — Barrett Jones, senior, Alabama; Matt Kalil, junior, Southern California.

Guards — David DeCastro, senior, Stanford; Kevin Zeitler, senior, Wisconsin.

Center — David Molk, senior, Michigan.

Wide receivers — Justin Blackmon, junior, Oklahoma State; Robert Woods, sophomore, Southern California.

Tight end — Dwayne Allen, junior, Clemson.

All-purpose player — Sammy Watkins, freshman, Clemson.

Kicker — Randy Bullock, senior, Texas A&M.


Ends — Melvin Ingram, senior, South Carolina; Whitney Mercilus, junior, Illinois.

Tackles — Devon Still, senior, Penn State; Jerel Worthy, junior, Michigan State.

Linebackers — Luke Kuechly, junior, Boston College; Jarvis Jones, sophomore, Georgia; Dont’a Hightower, junior, Alabama.

Cornerbacks — Morris Claiborne, junior, LSU; Tyrann Mathieu, sophomore, LSU.

Safeties — Mark Barron, senior, Alabama; Bacarri Rambo, junior, Georgia.

Punter — Brad Wing, freshman, LSU.



Quarterback — Andrew Luck, junior, Stanford.

Running backs — LaMichael James, junior, Oregon; David Wilson, junior, Virginia Tech.

Tackles — Jonathan Martin, senior, Stanford; Nate Potter, senior, Boise State.

Guards –Will Blackwell, senior, LSU; Austin Pazstor, senior, Virginia.

Center — Peter Konz, junior, Wisconsin.

Wide receivers — Ryan Broyles, senior, Oklahoma; Kendall Wright, senior, Baylor.

Tight end — Tyler Eifert, junior, Notre Dame.

All-purpose player — Joe Adams, senior, Arkansas.

Kicker — Caleb Sturgis, junior, Florida.


Ends — Frank Alexander, senior, Oklahoma; Vinny Curry, senior, Marshall.

Tackles — Joe Vellano, junior, Maryland; Derek Wolfe, senior, Cincinnati.

Linebackers — Courtney Upshaw, senior, Alabama; Lavonte David, senior, Nebraska; Manti Teo, junior, Notre Dame.

Cornerbacks — David Amerson, sophomore, North Carolina State; Dre Kirkpatrick, junior, Alabama.

Safeties — Markelle Martin, senior, Oklahoma State; Antonio Allen, senior, South Carolina.

Punter — Ryan Allen, junior, Louisiana Tech