Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Elliott Fry Named to Lou Groza Award Watch List
Football  . 

Elliott Fry Named to Lou Groza Award Watch List

July 9, 2014

University of South Carolina sophomore placekicker Elliott Fry has been named to the 2014 Lou Groza Collegiate Placekicker Award watch list, the Palm Beach County Sports Commission announced today.

In 2013, Fry, a 6-0, 165-pounder from Frisco, Texas, became the first true freshman to kick in a South Carolina season opener since 1996. He ended up leading the team in scoring with 99 points and setting a Gamecocks’ season record with 54 extra points. His four field goals were the difference in a 19-14 win over Florida, while his 40-yarder in the second overtime against Missouri proved to be the game winner.

Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2013 season and 2014 expectations. All ten FBS conferences are represented among the 30 kickers, led by four each from the American, Big 12, Mountain West, and Pac-12. The ACC, MAC and SEC each placed three kickers, followed by a pair from the Big Ten. Conference USA and the Sun Belt each placed one kicker, along with independent Notre Dame.

Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award will announce its 20 semifinalists on Thursday, November 6th. From this list, a panel of more than 300 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, and former Groza finalists selects the top three finalists for the award by Monday, November 24th. That same group then selects the national winner, who will be announced on Thursday, December 11th during the Home Depot College Football Awards, broadcast live from Orlando, Fla.

The 23rd Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl Committee, recognizes the three finalists during an early week celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet on December 9th, prior to joining ESPN in Orlando.

The Award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou “The Toe” Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.