Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Thompson Named Finalist for Wuerffel Trophy
Football  . 

Thompson Named Finalist for Wuerffel Trophy

Nov. 11, 2014

University of South Carolina senior quarterback Dylan Thompson is one of 12 finalists for the 2014 Wuerffel Trophy, it was announced today. The Wuerffel Trophy honors the college football player who best exhibits exemplary community service.

This is the 10th anniversary of the Wuerffel Trophy, an award named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship, played six years in the National Football League and has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts with Desire Street Ministries, in New Orleans and around the country.

The Wuerffel Trophy finalists, listed alphabetically by university, are:

• Taylor Kelly – Arizona State University – quarterback

• Bryce Haynes – Ohio State University – long snapper

• Sam Rodgers – Syracuse University – long snapper

• Chris Conley – University of Georgia – wide receiver

• Brennen Beyer – University of Michigan – defensive end

• Deterrian Shackelford – University of Mississippi – linebacker

• Ameer Abduullah – University of Nebraska – running back

• Trevor Knight – University of Oklahoma – quarterback

• Dylan Thompson – University of South Carolina – quarterback

• Corey Acosta – University of Southern Mississippi – place kicker

• Greg Mancz – University of Toledo – center

• Andrew East – Vanderbilt University – long snapper

“Each year I’m amazed by the quality of student athletes who are nominated by their schools, and this year is no different,” said Wuerffel. “Not only is it very difficult to pick a winner, it’s even a struggle to select the finalists. In a time when so much negative attention gets directed to a few players and their poor choices, it’s refreshing to see the positive impact these young men are having in their communities.”

A football player is nominated for the Wuerffel Trophy by his university or college sports information director or football liaison. A committee, which includes the Wuerffel Trophy national directors, selection committee members and past winners, will vote on the finalists later this month, and the winner will be formally announced on Dec. 9, 2014. The 2014 Wuerffel Trophy will be presented to the winner at the All Sports Association’s 46th Annual Awards Banquet on February 13, 2015, in Fort Walton Beach.

“This year we had a record number of universities nominating their athletes,” said Tom Brassell, executive director of the Wuerffel Trophy. “It just continues to amaze us to see what good things so many of these young men are doing in serving others in their communities and around the world.”

For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, visit