Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

May 5, 2015


BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – South Carolina’s Alaynie Page earned placement on the 2015 All-Southeastern Conference First Team, as voted on by the league’s coaches, the conference office released Tuesday. Also honored was Tiara Duffy, who made the SEC All-Freshman Team.

Page leads the Gamecocks in 13 offensive categories and is among the nation’s leaders in batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage. The Boiling Springs, S.C., junior ranked in the top three in SEC play in those marks listed above while also standing second in hits (33), fourth in runs (25) and total bases (59) and tied for fifth in walks (18). This season, she’s set new standards among Gamecocks in home runs (15) and total bases (150), while she threatens many others.

Page is the second Gamecock under head coach Beverly Smith to earn such distinction, following Lauren Lackey’s 2012 season. She’s the ninth South Carolina student-athlete to garner the accolade in the 19 years that the league has sponsored softball.

Duffy hit .304 in 14 SEC games this season, starting seven for the Gamecocks. Overall, she’s batting .300 in her freshman year. She joins teammates Nickie Blue and Kaylea Snaer as All-Freshman Team honorees, and she’s the sixth Gamecock to make the team since its inception in 2004.

Both Florida and Alabama took two individual honors, as Gators Kelsey Stewart and Lauren Haeger earned Player and Pitcher of the Year accolades and Alabama’s Alexis Osorio and Haylie McCleney were honored as Freshman and Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year. McCleney shared her award with Arkansas’ Devon Wallace. Taking the Coach of the Year plaque is Auburn’s Clint Myers.

South Carolina (36-19) takes on Texas A&M (38-17) in the first round of the SEC Tournament on Wednesday afternoon at 5 p.m. EDT at Tiger Park in Baton Rouge, La. The SEC Network has exclusive coverage of the first two days of the event.

2015 SEC Softball Awards

First-Team All-SEC
P – Lauren Haeger, Florida
P – Alexis Osorio, Alabama
P – Carley Hoover, LSU
IF – Kelsey Stewart, Florida
IF – Emily Carosone, Auburn
IF – Bianka Bell, LSU
IF – Alex Hugo, Georgia
IF – Kasey Cooper, Auburn
OF – Haylie McCleney, Alabama
OF – Alaynie Page, South Carolina
OF – Emily Crane, Missouri
OF – Kirsti Merritt, Florida
C – Kellsi Kloss, LSU
DP/U – Sahvanna Jaquish, LSU

Second-Team All-SEC
P – Chelsea Wilkinson, Georgia
P – Tori Finucane, Missouri
IF – Marisa Runyon, Alabama
IF – Sami Fagan, Missouri
IF – Demi Turner, Alabama
IF – Tori Vidales, Texas A&M
IF – Jade Rhodes, Auburn
OF – Tiffany Howard, Auburn
OF – Bailey Landry, LSU
OF – A.J. Andrews, LSU
OF – Sydni Emanuel, Georgia
C – Annie Aldrete, Tennessee
DP/U – Tina Iosefa, Georgia

SEC All-Freshman Team
P – Alexis Osorio, Alabama
P – Carley Hoover, LSU
P – Aleshia Ocasio, Florida
P – Paige Lowary, Missouri
IF – Tori Vidales, Texas A&M
IF – Demi Turner, Alabama
IF – Amanda Sanchez, Missouri
IF – Meghan Gregg, Tennessee
IF – Scarlet McSwain, Tennessee
OF – Nicole DeWitt, Florida
OF – Cortni Emanuel, Georgia
OF – Emily Griggs, LSU
OF – Elantra Cox, Mississippi
C – Ashley Walters, Texas A&M
DP/U – Tiara Duffy, South Carolina

SEC All-Defensive Team
P – Rainey Gaffin, Tennessee
C – Griffin Joiner, Kentucky
1B – Sandra Simmons, LSU
2B – Emily Carosone, Auburn & Kelsey Stewart, Florida
SS – Kathlyn Medina, Florida
3B – Kasey Cooper, Auburn
LF – Tiffany Howard, Auburn
CF – Haylie McCleney, Alabama
RF – Emily Crane, Missouri

Player of the Year: Kelsey Stewart, Florida
Pitcher of the Year: Lauren Haeger, Florida
Freshman of the Year: Alexis Osorio, Alabama
Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Haylie McCleney, Alabama, and Devon Wallace, Arkansas
Coach of the Year: Clint Myers, Auburn