Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Media Selects Samuel, Bailey and Charlton to Preseason All-SEC Teams
Football  . 

Media Selects Samuel, Bailey and Charlton to Preseason All-SEC Teams

July 20, 2018

Three members of the South Carolina football team were named to 2018 preseason All-SEC squads, while the Gamecocks were picked to finish second in the Eastern Division, according to the media voting conducted at the SEC Football Media Days in Atlanta this week and was announced today.

Senior Deebo Samuel was a first-team selection as a wide receiver, return specialist and as an all-purpose back. Junior punter Joseph Charlton was a second-team selection, while senior offensive lineman Zack Bailey was a third-team pick.

Samuel, a 6-0, 210-pounder from Inman, S.C., is one of the most electrifying players in college football. He owns 86 career receptions for 1,194 yards and has scored 15 career touchdowns – seven on the ground, five receiving and three via kickoff return. Samuel is the school’s record-holder in kick returns for touchdowns.

Charlton, a 6-5, 188-pound local product from A.C. Flora High School in Columbia, put together a very solid campaign in his first year handling the duties in 2017. He earned the Jim Carlen Award as the MVP on special teams and the Most Productive Player award for special teams. He ranked sixth in the SEC and 30th in the nation in punting, averaging 43.5 yards per punt. The Gamecocks finished 19th in the nation in net punting at 40.5 yards per punt. Charlton logged 15 punts inside the 20, 17 of 50-yards or longer and only four touchbacks among his 55 punts.

Bailey, a 6-6, 314-pounder from Summerville, S.C., returned to his more natural position of left guard in the spring after serving as the starting right tackle in 2017. A versatile performer who began his career as a guard, Bailey has also played center. He has played in 34 games over the past three seasons, making 26 starts (15 at left guard, eight at right tackle and three at center).

Alabama received 193 votes to be crowned SEC Champion on December 1 in Atlanta at Mercedes-Benz Stadium, while Georgia was second with 69 votes.

Georgia was selected to win the SEC Eastern Division with 1,977 points, including 271 first-place votes, while South Carolina was second with 1,535 points and 8 votes to win the division. Florida was third with 1,441 total points. Points were awarded on a 7-6-5-4-3-2-1 scale.

Alabama was picked to win the SEC Western Division with 1,971 total points, while Auburn was second with 1,664. Alabama received 263 first-place votes in the SEC West. Mississippi State was third with 1,239 points.

Only six times since 1992 has the predicted champion at SEC Media Days proceeded to win the SEC Championship.

EASTERN DIVISION (1st Place votes in parenthesis)

Georgia (271) 1977

South Carolina (8) 1535

Florida (4) 1441

Missouri 1057

Kentucky (1) 874

Tennessee (1) 704

Vanderbilt 392

WESTERN DIVISION (1st Place votes in parenthesis)

Alabama (263) 1971

Auburn (19) 1664

Mississippi State (2) 1239

Texas A&M 1091

LSU 1025

Ole Miss 578

Arkansas 412


Alabama 193

Georgia 69

Auburn 14

South Carolina 4

Florida 2

Mississippi State 1

Missouri 1




QB Drew Lock, Missouri

RB Damien Harris, Alabama

RB Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky

WR A.J. Brown, Ole Miss

WR Deebo Samuel, South Carolina

TE Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri

OL Jonah Williams, Alabama

OL Greg Little, Ole Miss

OL Martez Ivey, Florida

OL Trey Smith, Tennessee

C Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama


QB Jarrett Stidham, Auburn

RB D’Andre Swift, Georgia

RB Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M

WR Terry Godwin, Georgia

WR Ryan Davis, Auburn

TE Isaac Nauta, Georgia

OL Andrew Thomas, Georgia

OL Lester Cotton, Alabama

OL Hjalte Froholdt, Arkansas

OL Garrett Brumfield, LSU

C Lamont Gaillard, Georgia


*QB Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi State

*QB Jake Fromm, Georgia

RB Aeris Williams, Mississippi State

RB Jordan Scarlett, Florida

WR Jerry Jeudy, Alabama

WR Emanuel Hall, Missouri

TE C.J. Conrad, Kentucky

OL Matt Womack, Alabama

OL Zack Bailey, South Carolina

OL Javon Patterson, Ole Miss

OL Marquel Harrell, Auburn

C Erik McCoy, Texas A&M



DL Raekwon Davis, Alabama

DL Cece Jefferson, Florida

DL Montez Sweat, Mississippi State

DL Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State

LB Devin White, LSU

LB Anfernee Jennings, Alabama

LB Mack Wilson, Alabama

DB Deandre Baker, Georgia

DB Greedy Williams, LSU

DB J.R. Reed, Georgia

DB Deionte Thompson, Alabama


DL Jonathan Ledbetter, Georgia

DL Terry Beckner, Missouri

DL Derrick Brown, Auburn

DL Isaiah Buggs, Alabama

LB Josh Allen, Kentucky

LB Deshaun Davis, Auburn

LB D’Andre Walker, Georgia

DB Mike Edwards, Kentucky

DB Chauncey Gardner-Johnson, Kentucky

DB Jamel Dean, Auburn

DB CJ Henderson, Florida


DL Dontavius Russell, Auburn

DL Rashard Lawrence, LSU

DL Marlon Davidson, Auburn

*DL Kingsley Keke, Texas A&M

*DL Landis Durham, Texas A&M

LB Dylan Moses, Alabama

LB David Reese, Florida

LB De’Jon Harris, Arkansas

DB Mark McLaurin, Mississippi State

DB Marco Wilson, Florida

DB Javaris Davis, Auburn

DB Santos Ramirez, Arkansas



P Corey Fatony, Missouri

PK Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia

RS Deebo Samuel, South Carolina

AP Deebo Samuel, South Carolina


P Joseph Charlton, South Carolina

PK Daniel LaCamera, Texas A&M

RS Mecole Hardman, Georgia

AP Trevon Diggs, Alabama


P Zach Von Rosenberg, LSU

PK Tucker McCann, Missouri

RS Trevon Diggs, Alabama

AP Kadarius Toney, Florida

* – Indicates a tie