Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Legette and Rattler Named Finalists for the SCFHOF 2023 Blanchard-Rogers Trophy
Football  . 

Legette and Rattler Named Finalists for the SCFHOF 2023 Blanchard-Rogers Trophy


University of South Carolina wide receiver Xavier Legette and quarterback Spencer Rattler are two of the eight finalists named for the 2023 Blanchard-Rogers Trophy, it was announced by the South Carolina Football Hall of Fame (SCFHOF) today.

The Blanchard-Rogers Trophy honors South Carolina’s most outstanding college football player (or SC’s Heisman) for the 2023 season.

Each finalist was either born, grew up or played at a high school and/or college football program in the state of South Carolina.

Xavier Legette (WR/Mullins, SC/University of South Carolina): Played in 12 games as a wide receiver and on special teams, recorded 71 receptions for 1,255 yards, averaged 17.7 yards per catch, and scored 7 TDs, responsible for 1,459 all-purpose yards in 2023/recorded 2nd most receiving yardage in a season all-time in Gamecock history/Biletnikoff Semi-Finalist/2nd Team All-SEC (AP/Coaches)/Playing in 2024 Senior Bowl.

Spencer Rattler (QB/ University of South Carolina): Played in 12 games at quarterback, completed 68.9% of his passes for 3,186 yards and 19 touchdowns, 147.7 efficiency rating, ran for 104 yards and 4 touchdowns in 2023/Steve Wadiak Team MVP Award (shared with Xavier Legette)/Playing in 2024 Senior Bowl.

Voting is available online at and open to anyone. The voting period runs through January 8, 2024, and provides SCFHOF members, football fans, and media outlets an opportunity to provide a singular vote to help determine the 2023 Blanchard-Rogers Trophy winner.

The Blanchard-Rogers Trophy is named after Heisman Trophy winners Felix “Doc” Blanchard (McColl,SC/Army/1945) and George Rogers (USC/1980). The trophy has been used to honor the South Carolina Collegiate Player of the Year since the 2016 season. The player of the year award has been given out by the SCFHOF annually since the 2013 season. Dutch Fork High School alum Jalin Hyatt received the 2022 Blanchard-Rogers Trophy at our 10th Annual Enshrinement for his outstanding junior season at Tennessee. Mr. Hyatt was picked in the third round of the 2023 NFL Draft by the New York Giants.

Other finalists for the 2023 Blanchard-Rogers Trophy include Travis Blackshear (Furman), Jordan Burch (Columbia, SC/Oregon), Loobert Deneius (Benedict), Quincy Riley (Columbia, S.C./Louisville), Jeremiah Trotter Clemson), and Nate Wiggins (Clemson).

The 11th Annual Enshrinement Ceremony will take place on April 18, 2024, at the Hotel Hartness.